MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING FEBRUARY 14, 2011

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 14, 2011, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Darrell Moore.

Board members present were: Ray Templeton, Darrell Moore, Steve Keenum, Becky Rentz, and Terry Merck. Don Poindexter and Jeff Rogers were absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Craig Bessent, Shauni Vaughn, Phil Boone, Paul Jensen, Whitney Johns, Kristal Nobles, Nick Pruitt, Mike Kerley, Nadine Davis, Mitch Davis, Debbie Lambert, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: Garner Roberts - Abilene Reporter News, Candy Reagan-Wylie Weekly, Kimberly Cole - Raymond James Investments, and Michelle Daniel.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 10, 2011 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Becky Rentz and seconded by Terry Merck.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

CALL SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION & APPROVE CONTRACT WITH TAYLOR COUNTY CITY OF ABILENE

Terry Merck made a motion to call the school board election on May 14, 2011 and approve the contract with Taylor County Elections Office and City of Abilene to **ELECTIONS OFFICE &** conduct joint election. Two places will be up for election: Place #4 - Jeff Rogers, and Place #5- Steve Keenum. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

CONDUCT PUBLIC **HEARING ON 2009-10** 10 AEIS Report. AEIS REPORT

A public hearing was conducted on our 2009-

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES FEBRUARY 14, 2011 PAGE TWO

CONSIDER LOCAL POLICY UPDATE 89

A motion was made by Darrell Moore to approve Local Policy Update 89 as presented by Joey Light. The update affects local policies: CKB-Safety Program, EHDB-Alternative Methods for Earning Credit, EHDC-Alternative Methods for Earning Credit, EHDD-Alternative Methods for Earning Credit, EHDE-Alternative Methods for Earning Credit, and FD-Admissions. Steve Keenum seconded the motion.

The motion carried: $\underline{4}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL
OF 2010-2011
TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE
RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Terry Merck and seconded by Becky Rentz to approve all textbooks adopted by the state of Texas.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities; enrollment report; and student involvement report, Board planning session-February 24, 2011, Title IV Safe & Drug Free School Compliance report, and March School Board meeting.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:27 P.M. to 7:57 P.M. to discuss personnel recommendations and administrator's evaluations.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Steve Keenum made a motion to extend the contracts of Cynde Wadley, Tony Spradlin, Hugh Sandifer, Terry Hagler, Carol Smith, Lisa Salmon, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Paul Jensen, Debbie Lambert, Brad McVay, Mike Kerley, Shauni Vaughn, Mitch Davis, and Phil Boone, until June 30, 2013 as recommended by the superintendent. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

FEBRUARY 14, 2011 PAGE THREE

| OFFICIAL | |
|-------------|--|
| ADJOURNMENT | |

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Steve Keenum and seconded by terry Merck to adjourn. Official time was 7:58 P.M.

The motion carried: $\underline{4}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against.

| Date | | |
|------|-----------|--|
| | | |
| | President | |
| | | |
| | Secretary | |