ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING March 19, 2012

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, March 19, 2012, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, and Hoyt Harris. Dinner was provided at 6:15 P.M. for the Board.

AGENDA

President Joe Dearing, Jr., called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., determined a quorum was present at this time.

Four art students, representing Aledo High School, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas flags.

Mr. Dan Peterson, Aledo High School Principal, introduced art teachers Gloria Andrews and Sandy Sawyer, who in turn introduced art students and their work that qualified at the state level.

Vice President Jay Stringer and Secretary Johnny Campbell presented the following commendations:

AHS Academic Decathlon Team – State Qualifiers/Fourth Place Super Whiz Relay, Channing Webb – Silver Medalist/Interview;

AHS Girls Basketball – District Champs, Bi-District Champs; District 5-4A - Coach of the Year – Rusty Johnson, Player of the Year – Mallory Powell, Co-Defensive Player of the Year – Alanna Martin, Newcomer of the Year – Alyssa Dry, First Team All District – Hannah Loftin, Second Team All District – Caileen Tallant, Honorable Mention All District – Megan Wood; District 5-4A Academic All District – Hannah Loftin, Alanna Martin, Haley Loftin, Kaylee Black, Lauren O'Doherty, Marlowe Hutson, Mallory Powell, Katelyn Losos, Alyssa Dry, Megan Wood, Kaitlyn Jackson, Caileen Tallant; Class 4A Academic All State –2nd Team – Haley Loftin, Katelyn Losos, Kaitlyn Jackson, Caileen Tallant, Honorable Mention – Hannah Loftin, Alanna Martin;

AHS Boys Basketball – Third Place District; District 5-4A – Offensive Player of the Year – Taylor Johnson, Second Team – Matt Bishop, Pierce Gentry, Honorable Mention – Travis Gough, Kyle Gromann, Alex Riner; Academic All District – Dylan Bush, Dalton Dry, Ryan Evers, Kyle Gromann, Taylor Johnson, Drew Wright;

PTO Presentation, Kittie France, Aledo ISD PTO President – Ms. France presented Aledo I.S.D. with a check in the amount of \$56,000, collected from the fall fundraisers, accepted on behalf of the District by Vice President Jay Stringer. \$7,000 will be given to each campus for purchasing non-budgeted items that had previously been submitted to the PTO. A similar amount will be presented to the K-6 campuses after the spring fundraisers have been completed.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., opened the floor for Public Comment. There were none.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Bobby Rigues, to approve the Consent Agenda (Minutes – February 20, 2012), and Monthly Financial Reports, as presented by administration.

Motion was: 7 FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Hoyt Harris, to approve passage of an Order authorizing the issuance of Unlimited Tax Refunding Bonds, establishing sale parameters, authorizing the execution of a Bond Purchase Agreement and an Escrow Agreement, approving an Official Statement, and enacting other provisions relating to the subject.

Motion was: 7 FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

Mr. Dan Manning, Superintendent, reported:

- ~ Enrollment for Monday, March 19, 2012, was 4,651.
- \sim District Events Several activities were presented as informational items and Board opportunities. The next Board meeting is scheduled for April 16, 2012.
 - ~ 2012 2015 Strategic Planning Two meetings will be held at McCall Elementary March 22, 2012, and April 3, 2012.
 - ~ School Transformation Resolution Superintendent Manning reported background information regarding the resolution.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., introduced administrative report items:

- ~ 2012 Testing Update Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability, reported on manuals used for testing, days added to the testing calendar, how many tests that would be administered to students in grades K-12, and other information updating the Board regarding the new testing.
- ~ Amendment of Class Size Waiver Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, reported a form had been submitted for a class size waiver for Vandagriff elementary.

At 7:57 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Joe Dearing, Jr., after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.074 to discuss personnel or to hear complaints against personnel.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Joe Dearing, Jr., at 8:18 P.M.

There were no budget amendments presented to the Board.

A motion was made by Secretary Johnny Campbell, seconded by Bobby Rigues, to approve a Board resolution regarding standardized testing of Texas public school students, as presented by administration. (See Attachment A.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Hoyt Harris, seconded by Bobby Rigues, to approve deferral of the 15% EOC requirement, as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by Vice President Jay Stringer, seconded by Bobby Rigues, to approve staffing recommendations for 2012 - 2013, as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Secretary Johnny Campbell, to approve professional contracts for 2012 - 2013, as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

7

7

7

A motion was made by Bobby Rigues, seconded by David Davis, to approve instructional materials allotment and TEKS certification, 2012 - 2013, as presented by administration. (See Attachment B.)

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

A motion was made by President Joe Dearing, Jr., seconded by Steve Bartley, to approve the naming of Earl Husfeld, District CFO, as acting superintendent for April, 2012, and May, 2012, as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR (President Joe Dearing, Jr., Vice President Jay Stringer, Secretary Johnny Campbell, Bobby Rigues, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris)

0 AGAINST.

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements -

The Board, as a whole, thanked the leadership of the District for what they do; indicated that our kids are great in all areas and that was a reflection on the instructional staff, administration, and parents in the community; pointed out that the Math statistics taken from past AEIS reports were rising and above state averages; and a lot of change had occurred in the District this past year and the District is still doing well. Well wishes were voiced to Superintendent Manning for the months ahead.

President Joe Dearing, Jr., adjourned the meeting at 8:57 P.M.			
SECRETARY		_PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED		, 2012.