Minutes of the Special Called Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees Wharton County Junior College

A Special Called Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Wharton County Junior College was held on Monday, January 30, 2023, beginning at 12:04 p.m. in the Hutchins Memorial Board Room and Remote, 911 Boling Highway, Wharton, TX 77488

Trustees Present: Mrs. Amy Rod, Chair; Mrs. Ann Hundl, Vice Chair; Mrs. Mary Ellen Meyer, Secretary; Mr. Danny Gertson; Dr. Bret Macha; Mr. Paul Pope (zoom); Dr. Sue Zanne Williamson Urbis

Trustees Absent: Dr. Priscilla Metcalf, Mr. Larry Sitka

Others Present: Ms. Betty McCrohan, President; Dr. Amanda Allen, Vice President of Strategy, Enrollment Management and Technology; Leigh Ann Collins, Vice President of Instruction; Mr. Bryce Kocian, Vice President of Administrative Services; Mrs. Sheryl Rhodes; Peter Anderson; Lori Baumgarten; Shane Benich; Mike Billingsly; Lori Blust; Russell Brewer; Anne Casteen; Trish Chandler; Johnson Cherukara; Rhonda Clayton; Gloria Crockett; Kelley Crosson; Dianne Curtis; Sandra Davis; Carol Derkowski; Rocio Doherty; Kayla Drabek; Jeremy Eder; Robert Falco; Philip Hamlin; Lindsey Hawkins; Jill Hudgins; Vicki Hudson; Jodie Hutchinson; Tiffany Jones; Meghan Kaminski; Patrick Korenek; Sarah Kresta; TK Krpec; Courtney Lamensky; Debra Lemson; Karen Lescure; Eric Li; Santiago Lopez; Debbie Lutringer; Joy Magowan; Monica Maldanado; Jennifer Mauch; Deborah McGraw; Kimberly Mrnustik; Jonah Mutua; Jill Oglesbee; Penny Orrell; Karl Paolletti; George Prat; Alexandra Price; Carl Price; Sharon Prince; Patrick Ralls; Allyson Randel; Lindsey Reeves; Tommy Regen; Liz Rexford; Carol Riley; Lori Saucedo; Selena Schmidt; Bracha Silverstone; Tracy Simmons; Jessi Snider; Natalie Stavinoha; Wendy Tamayo; Wanda Taylor; Arthur Vallejo; Sharla Walker; Cindy Ward; Wendy Waters; Hector Weir; Gus Wessels; Stehanie Witzkowski; Tara Zekavat; Henry Zhao

I. Determination of Quorum and Call to Order

-Mrs. Rod called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m. and declared a quorum.

II. Houston Community College District's proposed designation of certain unassigned college service areas in Fort Bend County

-President McCrohan provided background information regarding Houston Community College District's request for a letter of support on the proposed designation of certain unassigned college service areas in Fort Bend County. <u>ACTION ITEM</u>: On a motion made by Dr. Macha and seconded by Dr. Williamson Urbis, it was the consensus of the group to remain neutral in further discussions with Houston Community College District.

III. Resolution of Support for the Texas Commission on Community College Finance Recommendations

-President McCrohan discussed the benefits of the Resolution of Support for the Texas Commission on Community College Finance Recommendation.

<u>ACTION ITEM</u>: On a motion made by Mrs. Meyer and seconded by Mrs. Hundl, it was the consensus of the group to approve the Resolution of Support for the Texas Commission on Community College Finance Recommendations.

IV. Approval of the Seventh Amendment to the Lease Agreement between the University of Houston System and Wharton County Junior College (\$58,830 reduction in costs for the period September 1, 2022 through April 30, 2023)

-President McCrohan discussed the proposed changes contained in the Seventh Amendment to Lease Agreement Between the University of Houston System and Wharton County Junior College.

<u>ACTION ITEM</u>: On a motion made by Mrs. Hundl and seconded by Mr. Gertson, it was the consensus of the group to approve the Seventh Amendment to Lease Agreement between the University of Houston System and Wharton County Junior College.

V. Adjourn

-The board meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Board Secretary