

The Kent ISD School Board held a regular meeting at the Kent Conference Center on Monday, March 17, 2025. President Haidle called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Members Present: Drake, Hamming, Featherston, Rettig, Haidle. Member Absent:

Kent ISD Staff Present: Superintendent Gorman, Assistant Superintendents, Finkel, Fee, Myers, Gardner; Directors Arnold, Baine, Bray, Campbell, Graham, Hissong, Hofstee, Houtman, Karsten, Larkin, Lienesch, Lillis, Maynard, McClintic, Murphy, Sneider, Store, Verwey; Recording Secretary Lovell; Staff Members: Dea Hill, Rachel VandenBrink, Joy Walczak, Bob Brenzing, Joanne Boorsma.

Guest: Laurie Cotto, Todd Bowman, Rodney Riley, Ronald Dennino

President Haidle welcomed attendees and turned the meeting to Director Bryndan Arnold to honor staff members Rachel VandenBrink and Dea Hill with the Leading Learning Award. Supervisors were given the opportunity to share their appreciation.

Assistant Superintendent Glen Finkel presented a high-level overview of technology resiliency, ensuring our technology systems can bounce back quickly during a cyber security event. President Haidle thanked Mr. Finkel for his extraordinary work keeping our technology services up and running.

Upon motion of Member Rettig, supported by Member Hamming, it was resolved to combine and approve action items D.1-D.17.

Ayes: Hamming, Featherston, Rettig, Drake, Haidle Nays: None *Motion declared to have carried.* 

Upon motion of Member Featherston, supported by Member Drake, it was resolved to approve the multi-year research and impact analysis for the West Michigan Teacher Collaborative.

Ayes: Featherston, Rettig, Hamming, Drake, Haidle Nays: None *Motion declared to have carried.* 

Upon motion of Member Rettig, supported by Member Drake, it was resolved to approve Lite Load Services LLC to replace the parking lot at Kent Aviation Center and the connecting drives at the Kent ISD main campus.

Ayes: Rettig, Hamming, Drake, Featherston, Haidle Nays: None *Motion declared to have carried*.



Upon motion of Member Featherston, supported by Member Hamming, it was resolved to approve GVL excavating to replace and improve parking lot 7a at the KEC Building.

Ayes: Drake, Hamming, Featherston, Rettig, Haidle Nays: None *Motion declared to have carried*.

President Haidle offered the opportunity for public comment. No public comment was given.

Superintendent Gorman congratulated Dea Hill and Rachel VandenBrink for earning the Leading Learning awards and their excellent work supporting staff and students.

Superintendent Gorman also thanked Mr. Glen Finkel for this technology presentation at this month's meeting.

President Haidle adjourned the meeting at 4:25 p.m.

Minutes approved on April 21, 2025

Andrea Haidle, President

Anne Hamming, Secretary

/ml