MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

April 19, 2012

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session April 19, 2012 in the Blue Bonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board Vice-President, Dr. Harry O. Watkins, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Board member absent was: Rodolfo R. Flores, President

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the March 22, 2012 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Audience to Patrons - None

Board Vice-President Dr. Harry O. Watkins welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Hector Gonzales, Joe Barker, Dr. Blaine Bennett, Willie Edwards, Jesse Martinez, Barbara Blair, Anne Tarski, Rick Jones, Connie Buchanan, and Karen Baen. Also in attendance were students Ernest Garza, Sarah Morales, Karina Luna, Ileana Luna, Elvia Valdes, Elvia Medina, Anisah Hindocha, and from the Uvalde Leader News staff Jessica Magnus.

A report on PTK was given by Barbara Blair and PTK members.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of March 31, 2012 as presented by Anne Tarski, Associate Dean of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to table the item on creating a Committee to recommend changes to College Policy DC (Regulation). Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to table the item on change to College Policy DC (Regulation). Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the Catalog changes for 2011 - 2013. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board Vice-President Dr. Harry O. Watkins called the board into executive session at 7:45 p.m. to consider personnel matters.

Upon returning to open session at 7:55 p.m., a motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Anita Shackelford to award tenure to Connie Buchanan, Amada Garcia, Abel Ortiz, Rosalinda Ortiz, Ann McKinney, Cheryl Sanchez, Claudio Valenzuela, and Robert Zaiglin. Motion carried unanimously. The recommendation is attached.

A report was given by Joe Barker, Dean of Students on the Survey of Entering Student Engagement (SENSE).

A report was given by Anne Tarski, Associate Dean of Finance on the Financial Condition Analysis of Texas Public Community College Districts - 2012.

A report was given by Dr. Hector Gonzales, Dean of Instructional Services / CFO on the Accountability Report - January 2012.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously at 8:33 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of	the Board
	Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness