ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING May 19, 2014

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, May 19, 2014, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Hoyt Harris and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:08 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Mr. Ron Miller, The Learning Center Principal, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags and spoke about the students served at his school this year.

Mr. Earl Husfeld, CFO, read the results of the election returns for the May 10 School Board Trustee Elections. (Exhibit A)

Mrs. Donna Roe, Secretary to the Board and Superintendent, swore in Mr. David Davis, Trustee for Place 6 and Mr. Hoyt Harris, Trustee for Place 7. (Exhibit B, C)

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Mr. Bobby Rigues, presented the commendations to VASE, State Qualifiers for Track and Track winner, Carl Williams, State Tennis Doubles Team, Girls Golf, and Tim Buchanan, for being named the NFF Gridiron Coach of the Year. Special recognition and plaque was given to board member Bobby Rigues in honor of serving on the school board for ten years.

At 7:32 P.M., the Board was called into executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.074 to discuss Board Reorganization.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer, at 8:43P.M. with no action taken.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, (no second required) to nominate Jay Stringer for Board President.

Motion was: **6** FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Hoyt Harris, (no second required) to nominate David Davis for Board Vice President.

Motion was: 6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. David Davis, (no second required) to nominate Johnny Campbell for Board Secretary.

Motion was: **6** FOR

0 AGAINST

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on several district events including a 2025 Committee update.

Dr. David Tillman reported that the Community Partners met on May 9, the last time this school year and stated that it had been an honor to serve as chairman of this committee.

Mr. Hoyt Harris reported that the Education Foundation Golf Tournament would be held on June 13 and sponsors were needed.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment and there were none.

A motion was made by Vice President David Davis, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve the April 21, 2014 Minutes and the Monthly Financial Report on the Consent Agenda as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6

0 AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced administrative report items:

- ~ Construction Report Mr. Earl Husfeld, CFO and Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on the summer construction projects including completion of The Learning Center, McAnally traffic loop, Auxiliary Building, BearCat Storefront, completion of the security entrance at Aledo High School, HVAC Systems and exterior lighting.
- ~ End of Year SHAC Report Mr. Scott Kessel, Coordinator of Student Services & Safety, and two School Health Advisory Committee members gave an overview of the year's meetings and activities.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. David Davis, to approve Kirk, Richardson, & Poole, P.C. as the auditing firm for the August 31, 2014 financial audit presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Bobby Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve AUI Special Projects Group, LLC for the site improvements at McAnally Intermediate School as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Vice President David Davis, to approve the contract for networking cabling and electronics at the Aledo Learning Center as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

6

6

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Vice President David Davis, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve Dr. Citty sending a letter to the Fort Worth City Council asking for consideration with concerns of the Morningstar Development Agreement as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

0 AGAINST

At 9:35 P.M., the Board was called into executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Sections 551.074, 551.071, and 551.072 to discuss personnel, items under consultation with the school attorney, and real property.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer at 11:07 P.M. with no action taken.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve Debbie Mantooth as the Math Specialist as presented by administration.

Motion was:

6 FOR

0 AGAINST

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements - The Board thanked all and said it was a great meeting.

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 11:09 P.M.

SECRETARY		PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED	. 2014.	