AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., November 17, 2009, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch Dr. Donnie Norwood

Ray Beaty, DC Carol Gregg Tom Pace

Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Curtis Britt, Ian Roark, Lety Martinez, Olga Garza, Sharyn Smith,

Jeff Middleton, Chuck Isner, Ella and Mary Hanson, Mary Lou Goodman, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins,

Michelle Edwards, Mary Franco

20752 Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by San Jacinto Elementary School students, Kehvla Garcia and Nicky Rincones.

20754 Invocation: Invocation was led by Father Mark Woodruff of St. Elizabeth's Catholic Church.

20755 Special Presentations:

Recognition of Ector Students from Room 214 –

Ector Junior High School students from Room 214 were recognized for writing their own book.

Recognition of Gold Performance Achievement –

The following twenty-three schools that earned a total of 45 Gold Performance Acknowledgments from the Texas Education Agency this year were recognized:

Ector County Youth Center:

Attendance, Commended Performance reading

Regular Board Meeting November 17, 2009

Bowie Junior High:

Commended Performance social studies

Nimitz Junior High:

Commended Performance social studies

Gale Pond Alamo:

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science

Austin:

Comparable Improvement reading

Cameron:

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance science

Dowling:

Commended Performance writing

Gonzales:

Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science Hays:

Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science, Comparable Improvement reading, Comparable improvement math

Sam Houston:

Commended Performance science

Ireland:

Commended Performance reading

Milam:

Commended Performance writing, Comparable Improvement reading

Pease:

Commended Performance science

Reagan:

Commended Performance reading, Commended Performance math, Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science, Comparable Improvement math

San Jacinto:

Commended Performance writing

Travis:

Commended Performance science

Noel:

Comparable Improvement reading, Comparable Improvement math **Blanton:**

Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science Blackshear:

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance writing, Comparable Improvement math

Johnson:

Commended Performance writing, Commended Performance science

Jordan:

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance science Cavazos:

Commended Performance math, Commended Performance science

Red Ribbon Week Poster Contest Winners -

The following Red Ribbon Week Poster Contest Winners were recognized:

Pre-K & Kindergarten

- 1st place Alyssa Ortega, St. Mary's Catholic School
- 2nd place Jahyden Mooney, Ireland Elementary

Primary

- 1st Place Arturo Cervantes, San Jacinto
- 2nd Place Ella Hansen, Ireland
- 3rd Place Lashaya Avalos, Pease

<u>Intermediate</u>

- 1st Place Justin Rios, Pease
- 2nd Place Chris Sais, Pease
- 3rd Place Coraima Cuellar, G.P. Alamo

Secondary

- 1st Place Laura Farber, Nimitz
- 2nd Place Megan Young, Bowie
- 3rd Place Tristan Kirby, Ector

World Class Leader in Education Award -

Nat Armendarez, Advanced Technical Center Welding instructor, was presented with the "World Class Leader in Education" Award.

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **<u>Request for Approval of Consent Agenda</u>**: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Request for Approval of School Health Advisory Council (SHAC)</u> <u>Members:</u> The following SHAC applicants were selected by ballot:

Jacqui Gore
Johnny Carter
Gracie Flores
Lucinda Graves Hurlbut
Rebecca Halpain
Leticia Martinez
Karen Williams
Brenda L. Smith
Dr. Alfred Karickhoff
Suzanne Rathbun
Vicki Leach
Emily Weinberg
Jane Boles
Diana L. Edmiston

- <u>20759</u> <u>DCIT Curriculum Sub-Committee Presentation</u>: The District Continuous Improvement Team (DCIT) Curriculum Sub-Committee presented a report to the Board. It was noted that the curriculum focus is in four areas:
 - The 3 C's (Content, Context, Cognitive)- content is what we are teaching, context is how we are teaching, and cognitive is how the teaching applies to life
 - Rigor and relevance
 - The teaching-learning cycle
 - High-yield strategies- these include building academic vocabulary, checking for understanding, stating objectives clearly, and providing feedback.
- Request for Approval of Board Policies: Cl(Local) School Properties

 Disposal; DPB(Local) Personnel Positions: Substitute, Temporary, and
 Part-Time Positions; EHBF(Local) Special Programs: Career and
 Technology Education: Moved by Wilkins seconded by Gregg to approve
 Board Policies: Cl(Local) School Properties Disposal; DPB(Local) Personnel
 Positions: Substitute, Temporary, and Part-Time Positions; EHBF(Local)
 Special Programs: Career and Technology Education, as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Closed Meeting – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:</u> No executive session was held.

Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Gregg, 20762 seconded by Pace to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented. Motion unanimously approved. 20763 Adjournment: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board Meeting at 6:46 p.m.

> **Board President Board Secretary**

Dr. Donna Smith

Yollie Wilkins