Minutes of the May 13, 2024 - Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a workshop session on May 13, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker (arrived 6:14 p.m.); Ranna Raval and Jobby Mathew (arrived 5:43 p.m.).

Trustee Manish Sethi was present at the meeting via video conferencing.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 9, 2024, at 9:30 a.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Mr. Chris Trotter; Dr. Angie Brooks; Diana Sircar; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Amanda Simpson; Naveen Boppana; and Taylor Bristow.

OPEN FORUM

No one requested to speak in person during the open forum part of the agenda.

ACTION ITEM

President Caviness then read the results of the May 4, 2024, General Election (attached).

<u>Place</u>	<u>Candidate</u>	<u>Votes</u>
6	Nichole Bentley Eneida Padró	2878 647
TOTAL		3525
<u>Place</u>		
7	Jobby Mathew	2995
TOTAL		2995

After canvassing the election results, President Caviness certified the election and declared Nichole Bentley winner in Place 6 and Jobby Mathew winner in Place 7.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve the Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 4, 2024. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

A Certificate of Election was issued to Trustee Nichole Bentley. Trustee Jobby Mathew's Certificate of Election will be issued at the May 20, 2024, Regular meeting prior to the Oath and Swearing In.

CLOSED SESSION

President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session under the Texas Government Code Section 551.074- Personnel Matters at 5:36 p.m.

President Caviness called the Board back into Open Session at 6:05 p.m.

WORKSESSION

- Coppell ISD's Legislative Advocacy Resolution Discussion for the Texas Association of School Board's consideration for the TASB 2024-2026 Advocacy Agenda – Nichole Bentley, Board of Trustees
- 2024-2025 & 2025-2026 Budget Workshop Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Bavia Gavinose, Beara i recident
Jobby Mathew, Secretary