MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

October 17, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session October 17, 2013 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the September 19, 2013 regular meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Board President Rodolfo R. Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Anne Tarski, Dr. Mark Underwood, Willie Edwards, Barbara Blair, Gilbert S. Bermea, Wade Carpenter, Ismael Martinez, Xaviera Haynes, Diane Underwood, Rachel Hinman, Dick Whipple, Terri Tucker, Bonnie Clinebell, Derek Sandoval, Reagan King, Lucas Limbrick, Barbara Compton, and Karen Baen. Also present was Les Glaze from Ferrell/Brown & Associates, Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross Rio Grande College and from the Uvalde Leader News, Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons: None

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of September 30, 2013 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

President's report given by Dr. Hector Gonzales

There were no Del Rio Project Change Orders.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to not hold the regular board meeting in November and the December's regular board meeting will be held on the 12th. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to change the order of agenda for report item. Motion carried unanimously. Diesel Technology Program update given by Lucas Limbrick

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 7:35 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board

Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board

Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness