## Minidoka County School District District Discipline Referral Committee (DDRC) Recommendation August 20, 2018

Policy 390.30 Student Discipline - Expulsion indicates that the Board should review the makeup of the District Discipline Referral Committee (DDRC) annually. Dr. Perrigot has served as the chairman of this committee for the past few years. This policy also provides for the DDRC to review all Superintendent recommendations for expulsion to submit them to appropriate court officials and authorizes those deemed needed by this committee to be filed for and in behalf of the Board of Trustees.

The District Discipline Referral Committee is the legal arm of the Board of Trustees empowered to conduct formal hearings, for, and in behalf of, the Board of Trustees for students recommended for expulsion. Such committee will be comprised of five members:

- a. A Secondary School Teacher or approved alternate
- b. An Elementary School Teacher or approved alternate
- c. A School Counselor or approved alternate
- d. A Special Services Representative or approved alternate
- e. A School Administrator or his/her approved alternate

The District Discipline Referral Committee members shall be empowered by the Board of Trustees by official action taken during the course of a regular School Board Meeting. The term of office shall be one year, subject to a second term by Board of Trustee action. A majority of three (3) will be considered a quorum and able to transact any hearing. No committee member shall have been associated with the disciplinary action. If the committee member has been associated with the disciplinary action he/she shall appoint an appropriate designee.

It is my recommendation is that those positions be filled as listed below with alternates listed:

School Administrator (Chair): Josh Aston/Greg Durrant

Secondary teacher or approved alternate: Joe Fairchild/Tim Behunin

Elementary teacher or approved alternate: Mary Garcia/Devin Christensen

School counselor or approved alternate: John Kontos/Shanna Lindsay

Special Services representative or approved alternate: Sherry Bingham