CAP Minutes March 19, 2024

- I. Called to order at 9:03 am. Members present: Dr. Sonja Wright-McMurray, Freddie Scott, Chair Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Phil Baldwin, and Toyce Newton CAP Chair swore in all who planned to speak. The transcript and video of this meeting is available on the Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website located at https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about/archived-minutesvideo/2024
- II. Motion to approve consent agenda. Motion passed unanimously.
- III. Dorie Summons, Director of Charter Schools, introduced Mark Millholland, interim superintendent of eStem. Superintendent Millholland presented information on performance and challenges facing eStem Public Charter Schools. Former Superintendent, Cherie Labat, recently passed away.
- IV. Dorie Summons, Director of Charter Schools, introduced James Boyd from KIPP Delta to present. Mr. Boyed presented about plans for KIPP Delta Public Charter Schools and challenges facing them.
- V. Motion to adjourn, seconded, and passed unanimously.

Minutes prepared by: Dustin Scott Wood, J.D. State Director of School Choice Arkansas Department of Education

Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Ph.D.

Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Ph.D. Charter Authorization Panel Chairman