The Waskom School Board convened in Special Session on Monday, July 29, 2013 at 6:00 p.m. in the Central Office Conference Room with the following officers and members present: Stan Boyd, Vice-President; Shanta Bates, secretary, Michael Allwhite, President; Jimmy Whorton, member; Michelle Thomas, member; Dane Loyd, member; and Jimmy E. Cox, superintendent . Also attending was, Sandra Rodgers, acting secretary.

Christy Gentry, member was not present.

The meeting was called to order by Michael Allwhite.

## HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL INTERVIEWS

Kevin Smith, Andy Chilcoat and Jack Parker were interviewed as candidates for WHS Principal.

## **PERSONNEL**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to accept the resignation of Beverly Johnson, WHS Spanish Teacher, Crystal O'Brien, High School Teacher, Dean Lester, WHS Tech Ap/Print Shop Teacher, Joseph Ellenburg, WES Special Ed Teacher, Honey Ratcliff, WHS Math Teacher and Jay Ratcliff, WHS Principal.

Vote: Five For. (5) One Opposed. (1) Dane Loyd

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Shanta Bates to employee Caryn Barkdoll, WHS Science Teacher, 1 year, 10 month probationary contract for the 2013-2014 school year, Crystal Gray, WHS Special Ed Teacher, 1 year, 10 month probationary contract for the 2013-2014 school year, Staci Brantley, WHS Tech Ap/Print Shop Teacher/Coach, 1 year, 11 month probationary contract for the 2013-2014 school year, Brooke Michel-WES Special Ed Teacher, on a 1 year, 10 month probationary contract for the 2013-2014 school year, and Austin Willis, Assistant Band Director, on a 1 year, 11 month probationary contract for the 2013-2014 school year.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Michael Allwhite, seconded by Dane Loyd, to employ Andrew Chilcoat as WHS Principal.

Vote: Two For. (Michael Allwhite & Dane Loyd) Four Opposed. (4) Shanta Bates, Stan Boyd, Michelle Thomas and Jimmy Whorton.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to employ Jack Parker as WHS Principal.

Vote: Two For. (Stan Boyd and Jimmy Whorton) Four Opposed. (4) Shanta Bates, Dane Loyd, Michelle Thomas and Michael Allwhite.

A motion was made by Michelle Thomas, seconded by Shanta Bates, to employ Kevin Smith as WHS Principal.

Vote: Two For. (Michelle Thomas and Shanta Bates) Four Opposed. (4) Michael Allwhite, Dane Loyd, Stan Boyd, and Jimmy Whorton.

## **ADJOURN MEETING**

A motion was made by Shanta Bates, seconded by Dane Loyd, to adjourn the meeting at 9:35 p.m.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously. So ordered by Michael Allwhite

President

Secretary