ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING December 14, 2015

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, December 14, 2015, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Hoyt Harris, Jennifer Loftin and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:01 P.M.

President Jay Stringer a quorum was present at this time.

Mrs. Amy Sadler, Coder Elementary Principal, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

Members from the Coder Elementary Choir, under the direction of Stacy Andrews, Choir teacher, sung two Christmas songs.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on upcoming District events; AISD Elementary UIL Academic Competition on December 17 at Stuard and the next school board meeting on January 11. Dr. Citty also gave a follow-up report on the Texas Drug and Alcohol Survey and told the Trustees that the athletics were the only students currently being tested and it would cost the District an additional \$20.00 for each test for drug and tobacco test. Dr. Citty stated that he will bring to the Board a report of the District plan in February. He also announced that Place 4, Steve Bartley and Place 5, Bobby J Rigues, are up for re-election and gave the Trustees a Spring, 2016 election timeline for their review.

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Hoyt Harris recognized Vandagriff student, Maddy Flora, winner of the National Veterans Day Poster and Poem contest. Jennifer Taylor, PTO President, presented a check to the District for \$75,000 to go to the campuses from their successful fundraiser this year. Ms. Taylor also reported that along with Community Partners, PTO gathered 12,000 items of food for the annual food drive. Shawn Callaway, Executive Director of the Education Foundation and Tricia Haber, President of the Education Foundation, presented the District with a check for \$159,325.78 to sponsor teacher grants. Mr. Bobby J Rigues was recognized for being elected to serve as a director on the Texas Association of School Boards.

President Jay Stringer gave the following report on the continuing education hours earned by the Trustees for 2015 as required;

ANNUAL ANNOUNCEMENT OF BOARD TRAINING

It is a basic obligation and expectation of a sitting Board member to complete the required Board training each year. This information will be reflected in the Board minutes as Tier One, Tier Two, and Tier Three training and will be made available to the public.

In accordance with State Board of Education rules, each new Board member will receive Tier One training, which includes a local District orientation and a basic orientation regarding the Texas Education Code and relevant legal obligations. All sitting Board members will receive updates regarding the Texas Education Code after each session of the Texas Legislature, including each regular session and called session related to education.

Tier One Training (Post Legislative Training and First Year Board Members)

The following Board members have completed the required number of Tier One training hours for 2015; Jay Stringer, David Davis, Steve Bartley, Dr. David Tillman, Jennifer Loftin, Bobby J Rigues, and Hoyt Harris.

In accordance with State Board of Education rules, the Board and the Superintendent team met on November 3, 2015 and participated and completed the Team of Eight Training.

All board members received the mandated 3 hours of Tier Two training requirements.

Tier Three (Discretionary Continuing Education)

The following Board members have completed the required number of Tier Three continuing education hours for the year: Jay Stringer, Jennifer Loftin, Hoyt Harris, Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, David Davis, & Dr. David Tillman.

The following Board members have exceeded the required number of Tier Three continuing education hours for the year: Jay Stringer, Steve Bartley, Hoyt Harris, Jennifer Loftin, Dr. David Tillman, and Bobby J Rigues.

President Stringer also gave the Trustees a handout entitled Review the Framework for School Board Development.

Mr. Hoyt Harris reported that the Bearcats and Boots Gala will be on April 1, 2016 and three-fourths of the sponsorship are filled. They are currently looking for a dinner sponsor for \$25,000. Mr. Shawn Callaway, Executive Director of Aledo Education Foundation presented the Foundation's 990 report.

Dr. David Tillman reported that the Community Partners met on December 4 and reviewed all the fall activities and will meet again on January 8.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment. Marvin Herring spoke about the elementary #5 location.

A motion was made by Vice President David Davis, seconded by Dr. David Tillman to approve the minutes from the November 16, 2015 board meetings, and the monthly financial report as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

0 **AGAINST**

President Jay Stringer introduced the Administrative Reports:

Linda Pavlik and Kate Lattimore Norris, Pavlik and Associates presented the communications audit and plan that was prepared for Aledo ISD.

Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development and Accountability, presented the Texas Academic Performance Report to the Trustees.

Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, reported on the third year and final evaluation of the 2014-2015 Strategic Plan. She also reported that the Aledo ISD has 100% Highly Qualified Status for the 12th consecutive year.

Dr. Citty, Superintendent, gave a goal process summary on his 2014-2015 goals that the Trustees approved.

President Jay Stringer introduced action items:

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by David Davis, to table the approval of the 2015-2016 Superintendent goals until January.

Motion was:

7 **FOR**

0 **AGAINST**

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Hoyt Harris, to approve Siemens Industry, Inc. for the Fire Alarm Systems inspection and maintenance as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

0 **AGAINST**

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Jennifer Loftin, to approve the bid of \$1,693,300 by Buford Thompson Company, LLC for the Coder Elementary School controlled entry addition and renovation project as presented by administration. 7

Motion was:

FOR

0 **AGAINST**

At 9:15 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.072 (Real Property) and 551.074 (Personnel).

$Trustee\ Comments/Acknowledgements-Merry\ Christmas.$		
President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 11:05 P.M.		
SECRETARY	PRESIDENT	
APPROVED	, 2016.	

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer at 11:05 P.M. with no action taken.