## MORROW COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

Minutes First Budget Meeting May 4, 2009 District Office Lexington, OR

The Morrow County School District Budget Committee met at 7:00 pm in the District Office in Lexington, Oregon, on Monday May 4, 2009.

## **Attendance**

Those in attendance included: Board members Craig Miles and Bill Kuhn; Budget Committee members Greg Barron, Lisanne Currin, Nichole Mahoney and Rita VanSchoiack; Superintendent Mark Burrows and Business Manager Rhonda Lorenz. Board members Nancy VanderDoes, Berto Hernandez, Barney Lindsay, Pat McNamee and Dan Daltoso, along with Budget Committee members Keith Lewis, Dean Mason and Suzi Frederickson, were absent. Lisanne Currin, Vice Chairman, presided over the meeting, however a quorum was not present, so motions could not be voted on at the meeting.

The budget documents, including the Budget Message, were distributed to the committee members in attendance.

Superintendent Burrows gave a brief explanation of the expenditures and revenues used to develop the budget for 2009-10 based on the guidelines established by the Board. The financial impact of state and federal funding was presented, as well as the effect passage of the Local Option tax would have on staffing in the district. Various program changes were noted, and different scenarios were presented to reflect the various funding levels.

## **Input From Community or Budget Committee**

Budget committee members inquired about pay freezes for all employees, and the general feeling throughout the county about the Local Option levy. Discussion about the increased revenue from MCURD for the athletic fund and the resulting decreased general fund transfer required was reviewed. Future funding of the Early Retiree insurance fund, and the need to reduce the unfunded liability, was discussed by Rhonda Lorenz.

No actions were taken at the meeting. The next meeting was set for 6 pm, prior to the regular May Board meeting, at Irrigon High School in Irrigon, Oregon.

The meeting concluded at 7:56 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Rhonda Lorenz, Secretary

Lisanne Currin, Vice-Chairman