

COLLIN COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

RESOLUTION

Honoring Governor Greg Abbott, Lt. Governor Dan Patrick, Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen, and Elected Legislators Serving within the Collin College Service District

WHEREAS, Governor Greg Abbott, Lt. Governor Dan Patrick, and Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen issued a press release on May 20, 2020, acknowledging the tireless work and dedication of state agencies and institutions across Texas to respond to the many challenges arising during the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the Governor and his administration, have recognized the important role that community colleges across the state play in recovery efforts within critical segments of the state's economy and workforce; and

WHEREAS, the Governor and our state legislators continue to bolster community college efforts to provide critical training and retraining for essential career fields and professions, including nursing, allied health professions, information technology, police, fire, and other first responders; and

WHEREAS, the Governor and his administration, understand that community colleges play a critical role in helping the state achieve the Governor's 60 x 30 goal that by 2030, at least 60 percent of Texans ages 25-34 will have a certificate or degree; and

WHEREAS, the Governor and his administration, despite significant economic uncertainties, have supported community colleges by preserving state funding for community colleges during this unprecedented time;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE COLLIN COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT, that the Board expresses its heartfelt appreciation and gratitude for Governor Greg Abbott, Lt. Governor Dan Patrick, Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen, and our local legislators included below for their stalwart leadership and lasting support of Texas community colleges, the community college mission, and Collin College specifically during both normal and challenging times.

Senator Bob Hall, District 2 – Rockwall (Rockwall County) Senator Angela Paxton, District 8 – Collin County Senator Jane Nelson, District 12 – Lewisville (Denton County) Senator Pat Fallon, District 30 – Collin County

Representative Justin Holland, District 33 – Collin County (part) and Rockwall County Representative Matt Shaheen, District 66 – Collin County Representative Jeff Leach, District 67 – Collin County Representative Scott Sanford, District 70 – Collin County Representative Candy Noble, District 89 – Collin County Representative Jared Patterson, District 106 – The Colony (Denton County)

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Board directs that this resolution shall be included in the minutes of this meeting, posted on the Collin College website, and that a copy be transmitted to the Governor and named elected officials.