## Draft

# Minutes of the May 12, 2025 - Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a workshop session on May 12, 2025, at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Nichole Bentley, Vice President; Jobby Mathew, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Anthony Hill; and Ranna Raval

Trustee Manish Sethi was not present at the meeting.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 9, 2025, at 12:30 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Dr. Angie Brooks; Diana Sircar; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Amanda Simpson; Naveen Boppana; and Dwight Goodwin.

#### **OPEN FORUM**

No one requested to speak in person during the open forum part of the agenda.

### **ACTION ITEM**

President Caviness then read the results of the May 3, 2025, General Election (attached).

<u>Place</u> 1	<u>Candidate</u> Leigh Walker Sheri Hill	<u>Votes</u> 3579 1066
TOTAL		4645
Place 2	Julie Waters Jonathan Powers	1788 2981
TOTAL		4769
Place 3	Anthony Hill	4185
TOTAL		4185

After canvassing the election results, President Caviness certified the election and declared Leigh Walker winner in Place 1, Jonathan Powers winner in Place 2 and Anthony Hill winner in Place 3.

## Draft

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve the Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 3, 2025. Jobby Mathew seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

A Certificate of Election was issued to Trustee Leigh Walker, Trustee Jonathan Powers, and Trustee Anthony Hill.

President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session at 5:37 p.m. as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel and Section 551.076 – Security Devices or Security Audits.

President called the Board back into Open Session at 6:50 p.m.

No action was taken following Closed Session.

#### WORKSESSION

- Coppell ISD Efficiency Review Committee (CERC) Report Angela Brown, Chief Communications Officer, Shayne Jones (Co-Chair) and Jon West (Co-Chair) (attended virtually)
- Legislative Update Nichole Bentley, Board of Trustees
- 2025-2026 Budget Workshop Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer

Anthony Hill made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. The meeting was adjourned at 9:54 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Jobby Mathew, Secretary