MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

March 23, 2017

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session March 23, 2017 in the Matthews Student Center – Blue Bonnet Room. Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez, and Tony T. Moreno

Board member absent was:

Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the February 16, 2017 regular Board Meeting were read and approved with changes, as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Ismael Martinez, Margot Mata, Johnny Guzman, Kirk M. Palermo, Luis Fernandez, Wade Carpenter, Connie Buchanan, Lisa Ermis, Dr. Cheryl Sanchez, Albert Ybarra, Gilbert Bermea, and Derek Sandoval. Also in attendance were Jed Griffin, Deya Davis, David Davis, Raul Reyes, Herlinda Pena, Letisia Gomez, Graciela Hernandez, Maria R. Garcia, Fernanda Munoz, Hortencia Arellano, and Delia Guevara, Jose Ramos from Ram Security, Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross/Rio Grande College, Jeff Cottrill from Knippa I.S.D. and from the Uvalde Leader News Charley Robinson.

Audience to Patrons: Jose Ramos from Ram Security Services – Regarding security contract Reports:

Crystal City Open House as presented by Kirk Palermo. A copy is attached.

Quarterly Investment Report presented by Lisa Ermis. A copy is attached

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the financial statement as of February 28, 2017 as presented by Lisa Ermis, Controller. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the Concealed Carry Policy with the addition to the concealed carry exclusion zones all Libraries and Food Service areas (ie. Cafeterias/snack bars). Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the renewal of the transportation note. Motion passed unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to table the item on tuition rate effective Fall 2017. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the changes to the 2017 -2018 catalog, Student Handbook and Faculty Handbook. Motion carried unanimously. Copies are attached.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the Knippa I.S.D. Early College High School Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for 2017-2018. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to appoint Board member Rodolfo R. Flores to confer degrees on Friday, May 12, 2017 and Anita Shackelford to confer degrees on Saturday, May 13, 2017. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the Board into executive session at 8:00 p.m. to consider:

- A. Employment of Vice President of Administrative Services, Deans, Non-teaching Personnel, and Faculty
- B. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/and Transfers
- C. Employee Complaints
- D. Discuss acquisition of real property

At 10:00 p.m. the SWTJC Board reconvened in regular session.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to extend employment contracts for Deans, Division Chairs, Non-teaching Faculty, and Faculty as recommended. Motion carried unanimously. Copies are attached

Board Chair announced that the Board made the decision to deny the Herlinda Pena and Raul Reyes grievances and not rehire Herlinda Pena.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Dr. Watkins made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 10:01 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	
	Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board