Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting August 19, 2020

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Tuesday, August 19, 2020. Panel Chair Deborah Coffman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Deborah Coffman, Phillip Baldwin, Sonja Wright-McMurray, Dr. Naccaman Williams

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following:

http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about-ade/charter-authorizing-panel/minutes/archive/2020

Ms. Coffman introduced the Panel members and provided the audience with logistical instructions pertinent to the proceedings.

Action Agenda

DESE Attorney Mary Claire Hyatt provided directions for the proceedings. Ms. Coffman swore in the school leadership and explained the voting procedures.

A-1 Request to Rescind Waivers Granted to District Conversion Charter School: Academic Center for Excellence

Mr. Aaron Randolph, Executive Director of K-12 Curriculum and Instruction in the Cabot School District, submitted a request to rescind waivers previously granted to the school.

A question and answer period followed.

Mr. Baldwin moved, seconded by Ms. Wright-McMurray, to approve the request. Motion carried unanimously.

A-2 Consideration of District Conversion School Amendment Request: River Valley Virtual Academy

Principal Jennifer Feeny and Director of Curriculum and Instruction Nancy Robbins presented an overview of the amendment request to increase the enrollment cap to 1000.

A question and answer period followed.

Mr. Baldwin moved, seconded by Ms. Wright-McMurray, to approve the amendment request. Motion carried unanimously.

A-3 Consideration of Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Application: Diamond Cut Performing Arts Academy

Dr. Anthony Bland, Mazhil Rajendran, Tacasate White, Ty Teague and Jessica Heggie presented an overview of the application for an open-enrollment charter school to be located in Maumelle and serve students in grades 6-8.

A question and answer period followed.

Dr. Williams moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to deny the open-enrollment charter school request. Motion carried unanimously.

A-4 Consideration of Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Application: Westwind School for Performing Arts

Theresa Timmons, Jennifer Conner, Chris Bell and Brent Elliott presented an overview of the application for an open-enrollment charter school to be located in A question and answer period followed. State Representative Mark Lowery, Project Runway Designer Korto Momolu, Arkansas Arts Council Representative Janet Perkins and parent Adora Curry spoke in support of the school.

Ms. Wright-McMurray moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to approve the openenrollment charter school request. Motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment

Ms. Wright-McMurray moved, seconded by Mr. Baldwin, to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m.

Ms. Deborah Coffman, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair