Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 19, 2014

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Lanny Orman, Jr. at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Lanny Orman, Jr., Randy Robertson, Nancy Duggan, Joanna

Horton, Nick Vann, Kenny Keller

Board members absent: Carol Wilson

Administrators attending: Rhonda Porter, Martha Blessing, Vickie Griffith, Gail Crow,

Heather Jestis, Stacey Proctor, J.R. Proctor, Chad Collins

Guest: Chris Taliaferro

Lanny Orman, Jr. honored Carol Wilson, retiring board member, for her service to the district.

Stacey Proctor, CFO and Notary, administered the oath of office to the new board members, Joanna Horton and Chris Taliaferro.

Nominations were made for the office of President. The names of Lanny Orman, Jr. and Nancy Duggan were given. Lanny Orman, Jr. was named president. The vote was (4-3).

For: Joanna Horton, Nick Vann, Kenny Keller, Lanny Orman, Jr. Opposed: Randy Robertson, Chris Taliaferro, Nancy Duggan

Nominations were made for the office of Vice President. The name of Joanna Horton was given. No other names were given. Joanna Horton was named vice president by acclimation. (7-0)

Nominations were made for the office of Secretary. The names0 of Nancy Duggan and Kenny Keller were given. Kenny Keller declined the nomination. Nancy Duggan was named secretary by acclimation. (7-0)

Tim Ratcliff and Chris Taliaferro spoke in open forum.

Vann made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Horton seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Vann made a motion to approve Budget Amendment 05BA03. Keller seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

No action was taken on a date for the Team of Eight Training.

Vann made a motion to set guidelines permitting a retired board member who had served two consecutive terms to present their child their diploma at graduation. Horton seconded the motion.

Horton made an amendment to the motion to state that a retired board member must have served in the last six years prior to their child's graduation to be permitted to present their child's diploma. Keller seconded the motion. Motion carried (5-2).

For: Orman, Jr., Horton, Duggan, Vann, Keller

Against: Taliaferro, Robertson

The board voted on Vann's motion with the amendment. Motion carried (5-2).

For: Orman, Jr., Horton, Duggan, Vann, Keller

Against: Taliaferro, Robertson

Catherine Yates and Angel McKinnon discussed the PTO plans regarding the elementary playground projects.

Rhonda Porter discussed the superintendent's report with the board of trustees.

Keller made a motion for a recess at 8:05 pm. Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

The board returned to open session at 8:20 pm.

The board was called into executive session on May 19, 2014 at 8:20 pm by President Lanny Orman, Jr. according to Section 551.071 of the Texas Open Meeting Act to discuss personnel.

The board returned to open session at 8:26 pm.

Vann made a motion to adjourn at 8:27 pm. Robertson seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Lanny Orman, Jr., Board President	Nancy Duggan, Board Secretary