

Board of Education

Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting The Board of Education

A Regular School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held April 23, 2018, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg B.

Ms. Susan McFerran, president, called the meeting to order. Other board members present were Mr. Greg Magness, Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Ms. Jeannie Cole, Ms. Talicia Richardson, and Mr. Wade Gilkey. Mr. Bill Hanesworth was absent. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Terry Morawski, Chief Operations Officer, Dr. Barry Owen, Chief Academic Officer, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, Mr. Martin Mahan, Executive Director of Human Resources, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent were present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Dr. Barry Owen gave the Invocation.

Ms. McFerran read the mission statement.

The consent agenda included the minutes of the March Regular School Board Meeting, the March Financial Report, April Student Services Report, Audit Requests for Proposals, Bank Requests for Proposals, recommendation of 2018/2019 Personnel Contracts. Mr. Magness asked that Item 5 (Bank Requests for Proposals) be removed from the consent agenda to be discussed and voted on separately. Ms. Jeannie Cole made a motion, seconded by Ms. Talicia Richardson, to approve the remaining consent agenda items as presented. The vote passed 6/0.

BANK REQUESTS FOR PROPOSALS

Mr. Warren reported that the District requested proposals (RFP) from banks for banking services for three years beginning July 1, 2018. Mr. Warren reported that five banks responded to the District about the RFP and the differences in the three actual proposals received by the District were summarized for board review at the April 16 Work Session. The administration recommended Centennial Bank since they held the best score, as well as provided the highest interest rate on the District bank account balance. Mr. Wade Gilkey made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jeannie Cole, to accept the three year proposal from Centennial Bank for banking services for the District beginning July 1, 2018. The motion passed 5/0 with Mr. Greg Magness abstaining.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Professional Staff Recommendations

Board of Education Minutes April 23, 2018

Resignations

Harlan, Lindsey Landry, Casey Wood, SFC Kevin Ricketts, Kortney

Retirements

Bateman, Jo Ann Cagle, Pat Davis, Joan Keifer, Tracy Ward, Lynne

Mr. Greg Magness made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jeannie Cole, to approve the resignations and retirements. The vote passed 6/0.

Recommendations for Employment

Kibler, Emily
Otto, Frances
Genevie, Lisa
Davis, Ashley
Jones, Phillip Scott

Mr. Wade Gilkey made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, to approve the recommendations for employment. The vote passed 6/0.

Recognitions

April Superintendent Star Awards: Alan Calvillo, sixth-grader at Pike Elementary, Jaclyn Evans, fifth-grader at Orr Elementary, Caleb Ferguson, sixth-grader at Ballman Elementary, Ryan Gaytan, sixth-grader at Barling Elementary, Misael Jaramillo, second-grader at Sunnymede Elementary, Denver Kaylor, fourth-grader at Fairview Elementary, Kevin Luevano, fifth-grader at Howard Elementary, Luke Mireles, sixth-grader at Cavanaugh, Piper Murray, fourth-grader at Beard Elementary, Kaden Starr Collier, second-grader at Bonneville Elementary, and Alexis Sides, sixth-grader at Tilles Elementary

Jackson Wollscheid, 8th grader at Chaffin Junior High, won First Place in the National History Bee and National History Bowl. Amy Markham is his advisor.

Isaiah Joe was recognized as Gatorade's 2018 Arkansas Basketball Player of the Year.

The following journalist students won awards at the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association State Conference: Gia Berklund and Kayla Curry, Newspaper Editors of the Year, Maggi Bodiford, Designer of the Year, Maggi Bodiford and Taylor Stubblefield, Yearbook Theme Development, Maggi Bodiford, Centerspread Design, Maggi Bodiford, Yearbook Computer Generated Advertising, Melanie Rice, Newspaper Computer Generated Advertising, All Arkansas Awards-Southworld editors, Gia Berklund and Kayla Curry, Southworld Online editor, Melanie Rice, Southerner editors, Taylor Stubblefield and Maggi Bodiford, Arkansas Press Women, Maggi Bodiford, First Place in Design. Susan Colyer is their advisor.

The following students won first place at FBLA: Evan Perez, Tony Thack, and Nate English in 3D Animation, Noah Foster, Business Law, Wesley Schwartz, Will Robinson and Wyatt Robinson, Digital Video Production, Stephanie Nguyen, Jennifer Pha, and Brooklyn Pook, E-Business, Keaton Black, Tyler Saitang, and Martin Tran, Network Design, Bryan Zavaleta Arens, Personal Finance, Madelene Riche, Public Speaking, Kelley Todd is their advisor.

The following students won Arkansas PTA Reflections awards: Oliver Durham, Fairview Elementary won first place in the Intermediate Music division, Kenneth Pham, Southside High School, first place in the Highs School Music division, Alejandro Perez, Sutton Elementary first place in the Special Artist division, Sawyer Walter, Cook Elementary, first place in the Primary Photography division, Ellia Crase, Chaffin Junior High, first place in the Intermediate Photography division, Breanna Cross, Sutton Elementary, won first place in Special Artist Visual Art division, MacKenzie Bohanan, Fairview Elementary, won first place in the Intermediate Visual Art division, Melanny Correa, Sutton Elementary, won first place in the Middle Level Visual Art division, Jackson Austin, Fairview Elementary won first place in the Middle Level Film Production division, Wesley Schwartz, Southside High School, won first place in the High School Film Production, Jaylen Lee, Cook Elementary won first place in the Intermediate Dance Choreography division,

Cook Elementary PTA received the Arkansas Safety Award.

Kelly Daniels, Darby Junior High School Counselor, received the Arkansas PTA Heroic Effort Award,

Travis Minor, Chaffin Junior High School Social Studies Teacher, received top honors when he was named as the recipient of the Sarah Fountain Outstanding Novice Teacher at the National History Day State Competition.

MILLAGE IMPLEMENTATION PLAN

Dr. Terry Morawski presented a Millage 2018 Communication Plan that the District will plan to implement if citizens pass the millage at the May 22 Election. The goal of the millage communication plan will be to provide accurate, timely information through open, transparent means.

Board of Education Minutes April 23, 2018

BOARD MEMBERS FORUM

No comments.

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

Mr. Bill and Ms. Sharon Lockwood had questions about the Millage 2018 Plan that is on the May 22 ballot for consideration by the voters.

The board took a 30 minute dinner break at 6:30.

CLOSED PERSONNEL APPEAL HEARING

At 7 p.m. the Board moved to the hearing room for a closed session to hear a personnel appeal.

After extended testimony, the Board went into executive session at 9:45 p.m. and came out of executive session at 10:37 p.m. Ms. McFerran entertained a motion to reinstate the employee upon the following conditions: a letter of reprimand to remain in employee's file and a probation period to last until December 31, 2018. Mr. Gilkey made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin to reinstate employment based upon the conditions stated above. The vote passed 4/2 with Ms. Cole and Ms. Richardson opposing.

There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 10:40 p.m.

Susan McFerran, President
 Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Secretary
rvoille Reaton-Wartin, Secretary