AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:00 p.m., July 14, 2009, with the following members:

Absent:

Tom Pace

Present: Fay Batch Ray Beaty Carol Gregg Dr. Donnie Norwood Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Shawn Bell, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Mike Atkins, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Barker, Ray Waggoner, Mark McCowan, Wayne Wallace, Jerry D. Caddell, Elaine Smith, Glenda Warren, Jarrett Gray, Evelyn Garcia, Colleen Gray, Nelda Loya, Ann Suiter
- **<u>20577</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.
- **20578** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **20579 Student Expulsion Appeal Hearing:** An Expulsion Appeal Hearing for Jarrett Gray was held in closed session.
- 20580 Closed Meeting (Discipline of Student) School Children; Disciplinary Matter or Complaint - Section 551.082 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the discipline of a public school child]: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 5:08 p.m.

Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 6:22 p.m.

<u>20581</u> Decision to Approve or Deny Expulsion Appeal</u>: Moved by Batch, seconded by Beaty to uphold the Expulsion as amended.

<u>For</u> :	<u>Against</u> :
Batch	Gregg
Beaty	Wilkins
Norwood	
Smith	

Motion carried.

<u>20582</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 6:23 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna Smith Board Secretary Yollie Wilkins