Resolution on School Funding for Lamar Consolidated Independent School District

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility of the Lamar Consolidated Independent School District (LCISD) to support the educational needs of all of its students;

WHEREAS, LCISD is the fastest growing school district of its size in the State of Texas;

WHEREAS, public schools are publicly governed, funded and accountable to parents, educators, communities, and students;

WHEREAS, our community has experienced extraordinary inflation at a time when tremendous growth requires new facilities;

WHEREAS, when the state fails to adequately fund our schools, it places an unfair responsibility on local taxpayers;

WHEREAS, the State of Texas anticipates an unprecedented \$32.7 billion estimated budget surplus for the 2024-2025 fiscal year;

WHEREAS, Section 48.111 of the Texas Education Code provides for a Fast Growth Allotment to provide additional funding for facilities in districts like LCISD, *but* each year caps the total amount to be paid out by the state, resulting in the Texas Education Agency Commissioner having to prorate the amount districts are otherwise entitled to;

WHEREAS, under the State's formula in 2019-20, LCISD's allotment was \$18,080,832 but LCISD only received \$7,938,673 as a result of the State's \$320 million-dollar cap;

WHEREAS, under the State's formula in 2020-21, LCISD's allotment was \$19,438,003 but LCISD only received \$8,441,043 as a result of the State's \$320 million-dollar cap;

WHEREAS, under the State's formula in 2021-22, LCISD's allotment was \$18,231,444 but LCISD only received \$17,490,815 as a result of the State's \$270 million-dollar cap;

WHEREAS, under the State's formula in 2022-23, LCISD's allotment is expected to be \$25,132,800 but LCISD anticipates only receiving \$20,781,628 as a result of the State's \$310 million-dollar cap;

WHEREAS, under the State's formula in 2023-24, LCISD's allotment is expected to be \$28,116,211 but LCISD anticipates only receiving \$23,248,529 as a result of the State's \$315 million-dollar cap;

WHEREAS, these millions of dollars lost each year could help raise teacher and staff salaries, build new facilities, and provide valuable experiences for our students;

WHEREAS, we advocate for a formula-driven mechanism, or index, to be implemented annually to increase the basic allotment to keep up with the additional inflationary pressures in public schools and that such index not be reduced by mandated spending requirements;

WHEREAS, we advocate for legislation that increases funding for facilities through the Existing Debt Allotment, Instructional Facilities Allotment, and New Instructional Facilities Allotment by

including a higher percentage of students and ensuring that additional funding is provided for fast-growth districts and not reduced or eliminated for districts with higher wealth levels;

WHERAS, we advocate for state funding supports to increase classroom teacher salaries while allowing districts to structure the implementation in ways that meet local needs;

WHEREAS, our District has always enjoyed supportive, productive relationships with our state legislators, and we look forward to continuing to work together to benefit our students, teachers, and staff in this new year;

WHEREAS, we advocate that state legislators monitor and respond to changes in economic conditions, demographics, technology, and natural disasters that impact school funding needs;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Trustees of the Lamar Consolidated Independent School District call on state legislators to support additional funding for measures that provide relief for fast-growth school districts, including increasing the basic allotment for public schools and ensuring that districts meeting the fast-growth allotment standards receive the full fast-growth allotment.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the Governor of the State of Texas, the Lieutenant Governor of the State of Texas, the Commissioner of the Texas Education Agency, State Senators Joan Huffman and Lois Kolkhorst, and State Representatives Gary Gates, Jacey Jetton, Stan Kitzman, Suleman Lalani.

Adopted this 17th day of January 2023.

Alex Hunt, President	Joy Williams, Vice President
Zach Lambert, Secretary	Mandi Bronsell, Member
Kay Danziger, Member	Joe Hubenak, Member

Jon Welch, Member