Aransas Pass Independent School District

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting on August 12, 2024

The Aransas Pass Independent School District Board of Trustees held a regular board meeting on August 12, 2024 in the boardroom located at 2300 McMullen Lane, Suite 600, Aransas Pass, Texas.

President, Wanese Butler; Vice President, John Mullenax; Secretary, Olivia Hill; Trustee, David Rector; and Trustee, Terry Stansberry were present. Also present were Superintendent, Dr. Glenn Barnes; Director of Curriculum, Heather Waugh-Hurta; Director of Business and Finance, Melinda Chapa; and other interested parties.

Absent were Trustee, Delfino Flores; and Trustee, Victor Galvan.

Opening Ceremonies

With a quorum established, President, Wanese Butler called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Vice President, John Mullenax led the group in the pledges of allegiance to the Texas and United States flags. Trustee, David Rector delivered the invocation.

Public Testimony

At this time President, Wanese Butler opened the meeting for any member of the community who would like to address the board on matters concerning the district. There was none.

Superintendent's Report

Superintendent, Dr. Glenn Barnes shared an update on the district's construction projects and the calendar of upcoming events. The Board was also reminded of the upcoming Special Meeting to adopt the 2024-2025 budget and tax rate.

Financial Reports

Information was shared with the Board regarding the accounts payable, budget status and investment, and tax collections reports for July 2024, and the tax collection report for June 2024. There were no ESSER expenditures during the reporting period. There was no update to provide on the FEMA projects.

Consent Agenda

The item included on the consent agenda for consideration included the Minutes of the July 10, 2024 Regular Board Meeting, the adjunct faculty agreement with Texas A&M AgriLife San Patricio County Extension, the resolution to recognize the extracurricular status of the San Patricio County 4-H Organization, the adjunct faculty agreement with Texas A&M AgriLife Aransas County Extension, the resolution to recognize the extracurricular status of the Aransas County 4-H Organization, the resolution to recognize the extracurricular status of the Aransas County 4-H Organization, the resolution of understanding with Del Mar College for the dual credit and continuing education programs, the memorandum of understanding with Del Mar College for the Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH) dual credit and continuing education programs, and the agreement with Texas A&M University Kingsville for the educator preparation program.

Secretary, Olivia Hill moved to approve the consent agenda item. Vice President, John Mullenax seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Board Updates and Topics for Future Meetings

President, Wanese Butler informed the Board of the officer's meeting over the Board Code of Conduct and Operating Procedures, and the intent to bring these revised documents to the Board for first review at the next regular board meeting.

Action Agenda

The 2024-2025 T-TESS appraisal calendar, appraisers, and procedures were provided for consideration. Trustee, David Rector moved to approve the 2024-2025 T-TESS appraisal calendar, appraisers, and procedures. Secretary, Olivia Hill seconded the motion. Motion passed.

A request for permission to move forward in preparing a resolution that would require the Board's approval prior to setting the I&S tax rate for the 2024 year with a defeasance payment was provided for consideration. Vice President, John Mullenax moved to authorize administration to prepare a resolution that would require the Board's approval to set the I&S Debt Tax Rate to include defeasance payment. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed.

A resolution authorizing the issuance of approximately \$1,130,000.00 Aransas Pass Independent School District limited maintenance tax note, series 2024; levying maintenance and operations taxes for the payment of the notes; and other related matters was provided for consideration. Trustee, Terry Stansberry moved to approve the resolution authorizing the issuance of approximately \$1,130,000.00 Aransas Pass Independent School District limited maintenance tax note, series 2024; levying maintenance and operations taxes for the payment of the notes; and other related matters. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed.

The final budget amendment for the 2023-2024 school year was provided for consideration. Vice President, John Mullenax moved to approve the budget amendment. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed.

The resolution regarding authorization of leave adjustments for the June 19, and July 8-9, 2024 weather-related closure due to tropical weather was provided for consideration. Trustee, Terry Stansberry moved to approve the resolution regarding authorization of leave adjustments for the June 19 and July 8-9, 2024 weather-related closure due to tropical weather. Vice President, John Mullenax seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Information regarding the TASB Delegate Assembly, to take place in San Antonio on Saturday, September 28, 2024 was provided for information. Trustee, David Rector nominated Vice President, John Mullenax to serve as the district's voting delegate at the 2024 TASB Delegate Assembly. Secretary, Olivia Hill nominated President, Wanese Butler to serve as the district's alternate delegate at the 2024 TASB Delegate Assembly. Secretary, Olivia Hill moved to approve Vice President, John Mullenax to serve as the district's voting delegate and President, Wanese Butler to serve as the district's alternate delegate at the 2024 TASB Delegate Assembly. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed. President, Wanese Butler closed the open meeting at 7:31 p.m. and stated that the board would convene in executive session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code 551.001 et seq., concerning any and all purposes permitted by the act.

- Section 551.074 Personnel
 - Resignation
 - New Hires Information
 - Staffing Update

The board ended the closed session at 8:05 p.m., and reconvened in open session.

Secretary, Olivia Hill moved to approve the resignation as discussed in executive session. Trustee, Terry Stansberry seconded the motion. Motion passed.

There being no further business before the board, President, Wanese Butler adjourned the meeting at 8:06 p.m.

Wanese Butler, President

Blaise Miller, Secretary to Board