Recognition December 9, 2014

DENTON HIGH

DHS junior honored with President's Award by TSNO

The Texas School Nurses Organization recently chose Josh Boring as the recipient of its annual President's Award for his work in promoting the advancement of healthy practices for students of all ages and the advancement of standards for professional school nurses.

In September, he represented Texas and Denton ISD on Constitution Day at the Capitol in Washington, D.C. and spoke to Congressman Michael Burgess and one of the aides of Senator Ted Cruz on the importance of having registered nurses on every school campus – a practice implemented by the district. He earned this all-expense paid trip by winning the Bill of Rights contest, which judged civic engagement in the community, on his efforts promoting health care and nursing.

Josh was presented with his award at the TSNO's annual award luncheon in conjunction with its state conference in Houston in November. He is a part of the IB Diploma Programme at Denton High and a member of the varsity baseball team.

DENTON ISD

District recognizes 155 high school students as 2014 AP scholars

The College Board honored 155 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2014, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement though exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

Students who earn scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams are named AP Scholars. Denton ISD had 105 students earn the AP Scholar distinction.

Denton High School

Adinawa Adjagbodjou, Sheng Kai Chen, Dylan Curtis, Vanessa Jimenez, Seong Jung, Rose Koeninger, Peyton Lenaburg, Ngoc Thuong Nguyen, Austin Ridgdill, Sasawat Satumtira, Kevin VanHorn.

Graduated: Jesus Bautista, Sean Burrows, August Cocchiarella, Bernardino De La Garza, Eman Eizenga, Emily Fu, Christian Luke, George Roberson, Neel Shroff, Amira Spikes, Yiming Su.

Guyer High School

Maria Harmjanz, Adam Anderson, Emily Apt, Quinton Ayers, Bryce Babcock, Thomas Carpenter, Jubei Del Rosario Vinales, Samantha Donovan, Jacob Herbig, Devin Horton, Andrew Hunsberger, Ryan Koch, Remy Nadeau, Sophie Nader, Jessica Nguyen, Jacob Poole, Allison Reibach, Brooke Scherer, Bassam Smadi, Hunter Snowden, Aaron Taylor, Megan Temple, Darby Traylor, Zachary Wade.

Graduated: Isaac Akintitan, Ricardo Barerra, Bronson Bledsoe, Kendall Bose, Savannah Bradley, Kaitlyn Caro, Maxwell Conradi, John Cowan, Jon Debruin, Stacey Detvo, Ariana Fehr, Thomas Ferguson, John Gilbert, Thomas Gray, Christien Hunt, Joshua Jordan, Silvia Kim,

Logan Lockhart, Brandi Marriot, Sophie Martin, Kaitlyn McClaine, Sydnie McCormick, Baley McGraw, Jasmine Montemayor, Eduardo Montoya, Kayla Mullin, Haley Neu, Jimmy Nguyen, Melissa Petrie, William Phelan, Kassie Prichard, Mikaela Pyle, James Reinauer, Edie Scott, Natalie Seavey, Tristan Spray, Michaela Thompson, Savannah Thomson, Adam Vollmar, Alexandria Windle

Ryan High School

Peyton Bolz, Mason Forshage, Victoria Gonzalez, Isaac Hill, William James, Emily McPherson, Samantha Parrish, Nicholas Pierce, Matthew Russell, Peter Serafin, Joshua Soderstrom.

Graduated: Jared Allen, Marshall Bielefeld, James Crowe, Katelyn Finn, Melissa Gonzalez, Reilly Martinez, Janeciya Steward

Students who earn an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and score of three or higher on four or more exams earn the AP Scholar with Honors certification. Denton ISD had 22 students who were awarded this honor.

Denton High School

Madeline Dehart, Kade Wagner Graduated: Isaac Warriner

Guyer High School

Damian Crow, Maxwell Herbig, Max Malone, Jeffrey Miyata, Andrew Rieder, Michael Tabet.

Graduated: Connor Bourgeois, Phillip Carnell, Allison Flack, Madison Franklin, Ashley Krinner, Jordan Reyes, Charis Rodgers, Teodoro Santiesteban, Camille Sutton, Travis Ware

Ryan High School

Destiny Murphy

Graduated: Aaron Lawrence, Thomas Reidy

Students who earn an average score of 3. 5 on all AP exams taken, and score of three or higher on five or more exams earn the AP Scholar with Distinction certification. Denton ISD had 26 students who were awarded this honor.

Denton High School

Graduated: Omar Akram, John Carmona, Emily Hu, DJ Lang, William Root

Guyer High School

Alicia Downard, Zachary Freeze, Eliza Price, Carol Scott

Graduated: Kade Goodchild, Chimezie Iieje, Bailey Lewis, Troy Lucas, Jackie Peterson, Jessica Pink, David Quintanilla, Christina Suikkari, Esther Weaver, Natalie Windle

Ryan High School

Graduated: Jared Allen, James Crowe, Melissa Gonzalez, Aaron Lawrence, Reilly Martinez, Saket Patel, Thomas Reidy

Students who earn an average score of 4 on all AP exams taken, and score of three or higher on eight or more exams earn the National AP Scholar certification. Denton ISD had two students who were awarded this honor.

Denton High School

Graduated: William Root Guyer High School

Graduated: Jessica Pink, Natalie Windle

Ryan High School Graduated: Jared Allen

DENTON ISD

District recognizes 23 high school students as National Merit Scholars, 3 named national semifinalists

Three Denton ISD seniors have joined an elite group of scholars by earning one of the highest academic honors in the country. Guyer High School's Max Malone, Eliza Price and Zachary Wade are among the highest scoring entrants from the state of Texas in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship program.

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen for recognition based on taking the Preliminary- SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (NMSQT) – a test that is taken by 1.5 million students each year.

Denton ISD has produced 36 National Merit Semifinalists in the past 12 years.

This spring, 7,600 Semifinalist will be notified if they will be elevated to Finalist in the prestigious competition - a selection based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. This distinction earns students scholarships and college sponsorships.

Additionally, 12 Denton ISD students were recognized as Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship program. There are less than 34,000 students recognized nationwide, placing these student's scores on the PSAT/NMSQT in the top five percent.

They include: Seong Jung, Denton High; Aaron Reecer, Denton High; William Tanner, Denton High; Maxwell Herbig, Guyer High; Remi Nadeau, Guyer High; Youjung Song, Guyer High; Michael Tabet, Guyer High; Sean Durbin, Ryan High; Mason Forshage, Ryan High; Isaac Anthony Hill, Ryan High; Emily McPherson, Ryan High; Destiny Murphy, Ryan High.

The district also had eight students received recognition as National Hispanic Scholars or National Achievement Scholars.

The National Merit program recognizes students that are at-least one-quarter Hispanic or Latino and are among the top 5,000 high scoring individuals on the PSAT/NMSQT exam.

They include: Allison Reibach, Guyer High; Eric Sandoval, Guyer High; Jubei Del Rosario Vinales, Guyer High; Ian Blasini, Ryan High; Victoria Gonzalez, Ryan High; Mishel Martinez, Ryan High; Jessica Ward, Ryan High.

The National Achievement Scholarship program recognizes scholars that annually score in the top three percent of more than 16,000 Black Americans who request consideration in the National Achievement program.

Denton ISD recipients include: Jubei Del Rosario Vinales, Guyer High; Derek Watson, Guyer High.