DRAFT

Minutes of the October 26, 2009 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on October 26, 2009 at 6:33 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; Anthony Hill; David Apple; Scott Orr and Thom Hulme A quorum was present.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Debra Hart, Director of Student Services; and Tracey Wallace, Executive Director of Human Resources

Legal Counsel present: Joe Tanguma

Notice of this meeting was posted on October 23, 2009 at 2:30 p.m.

At 6:34 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Sections 551.071- Consultation with Attorney; Sections 551.082 and 551.0821 School Children and Personally Identifiable Information about Public School Student; Section 551.072 –Deliberations regarding Real Property; and Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

At 7:33 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Kelly Penny, Sid, Grant, Tracey Wallace, Melody Paschall; Curriculum Staff, Campus Principals; Tamerah Ringo; and Chad Branum

The invocation was given by Thom Hulme.

AWARDS

Damilola Salako and Gabriel Samuel-Ezeugoh received recognition for being named semifinalists in the 2010 National Achievement Scholarship Program.

Six campuses made the Texas Education and Business Coalition Honor Roll for 2009. Principals Brad Hunt (CHS), Lynn Ojeda (CMS North), Vern Edin (CMS West), Bryan McLain (Denton Creek Elem.), Gema Hall (Lakeside Elem.), and Deana Harrell (Wilson Elem.) were recognized.

OPEN FORUM

No one addressed the Board of Trustees during Open Forum.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS

BOARD PRESIDENT – Cindy Warner gave a report on the Education Foundation and gave a City Update.

BOARD MEMBERS – Susie Kemp discussed the Red Ribbon Breakfast. Anthony Hill gave reports on the DEIC, NTAASB and the YMCA C.A.R.E. program.

<u>SUPERINTENDENT</u> – Dr. Turner reported on the community forums ("The Discussion").

CONSENT

Thom Hulme requested that Item 4 on the Consent Agenda be considered separately.

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of the Board Meetings held on September 28, 2009 and October 15, 2009
- 2. Approve budget amendments for 2009-2010
- 3. Approve Financial Report for September 2009
- 5. Approve the Construction Manager-At-Risk purchasing method for bond projects to be completed between 2010 and 2013
- 6. Approve salary adjustments as required by House Bill 3646

Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve SHW Group, LLP contract for bond project architectural and engineering services (Item 4). Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Bennett Ratliff moved that the Board add, revise, or delete (LOCAL) policies CFD, CLB, CV, DGBA, EIA, FDD, FDE, FEA, FEC, and FFAD as recommended by TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 86 with the following changes: Policy CV (LOCAL) change the amount under Construction Contracts (second paragraph) from \$25,000 to \$50,000. Local policies EIE and EIF will be reconsidered for adoption after revisions have been made. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to uphold the Level II decision in the cell phone policy grievance. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to uphold the Level II findings of the personnel grievance. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

At 8:22 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, Section 551.072 – Deliberations regarding Real Property.

President Warner declared the Board in Open Session at 8:43 p.m., and the meeting was adjourned at that time.

Cindy Warner, Board President

Susie Kemp, Secretary