

Beeville Independent School District

201 N. St. Mary's (361) 358-7111

Beeville, TX 78102-2494 (361) 358-7837 fax

Sue Thomas, Ed. D. Superintendent

October 10, 2011

Board of Trustees Beeville Independent School District 201 North Saint Mary's St. Beeville, Texas 78102

Re: Recommendation of the Redistricting Advisory Committee

Regarding Redrawing Beeville ISD Multi-member District Boundaries

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen of the Board of Trustees:

We, the members of the Redistricting Advisory Committee (hereinafter "Committee"), have completed the process of discussing and evaluating the options for redistricting plans for the Beeville Independent School District and wish to make the following recommendation to the Board:

- 1. The Committee met on September 12, 2011 in a public meeting with the District's redistricting experts to discuss and receive public comment regarding proposed redistricting plans in which the boundaries of the two multi-member districts (MMDs) were to be revised following the publication of the 2010 U.S Federal Census data as required by state and federal law. The attendance sign-in sheets for both Committee members and the public are attached as Exhibit 1. Mr. Jessy Garza did not attend the Committee meeting.
- 2. The Committee used the redistricting guidelines attached as <u>Exhibit 2</u> and we believe that the recommended plan follows those guidelines to the extent possible, given the new Census data.
- 3. Initial draft Plans 2-A and 2-B were presented by the demographer. The demographer and attorney informed the Committee that these plans could be changed by the Committee by working with the demographer to move blocks of population between the MMDs. After consideration of the plans presented, there was a consensus among the Committee members to recommend the adoption of the Plan 2-B redistricting plan. Copies of maps and the statistical tables for all plans considered are attached for your review. Plan 2-B revises Beeville Independent School District's two MMD boundaries producing a deviation of 5.2%. Plan 2-B maintains strong Hispanic population in each MMD with 66.3% total Hispanic population and 61.9% voting-age Hispanic population in MMD 1; and 66.3% total Hispanic population and 62.1% voting-age population in MMD 2. The Committee discussed the benefit of following County election precinct lines because voters would more easily understand the boundaries. Efforts were made to follow the County election precinct lines where possible.

- 4. The Committee members were able to discuss the preferred plan and plan drawing process with their respective community members in the weeks following the meeting in order to obtain community input.
- 5. It is the consensus among the Committee members to recommend that the Board of Trustees adopt plan 2-B over plan 2-A because the Committee members believe that plan 2-B better balances the Hispanic population than Plan 2-A which creates one very strong Hispanic MMD 2 at 75.1% total Hispanic population and a significantly weaker MMD 1 with 58% Hispanic population. The Committee agreed that although Plan 2-A represented the least change from the current plan, the increase in Hispanic population over time makes is possible to have two equally strong Hispanic MMDs rather than only one strong MMD. Maps and comparison tables of the respective Plans 2-A and 2-B are attached as Exhibit 3 and Exhibit 4, respectively.
- 6. A complete list of the Committee members is attached as <u>Exhibit 5</u> and the minutes of the meeting are attached as <u>Exhibit 6</u>.
- 7. The Committee has appointed John Galloway as Chair to present its recommendation to the Beeville Independent School District Board of Trustees at the October 18, 2011 Board meeting.

We appreciate the opportunity to participate in this process and to represent our respective parts of the school district community in making recommendations for enhanced voting opportunities for all citizens of the Beeville Independent School District. If we can be of further service, please do not hesitate to call on us.

	Respectfully submitted,
John Galloway, Chair	Laura Fischer
Rosa Linda Perez	Lou Adele May
Alden Southmayd	Jimmy Martinez