DRAFT

Minutes of the September 9, 2024 - Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met for a Board Workshop on September 9, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by Vice President Nichole Bentley.

Members present: David Caviness, President (arrival 5:40 p.m.); Nichole Bentley, Vice-President; Jobby Mathew Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill; and Ranna Raval.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on September 6, 2024, at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Executive Administrative Assistant; Angela Brown, Diana Sircar; Kristen Eichel; Dr. Angie Brooks; Naveen Boppana and Dwight Goodwin

President Caviness called a brief recess due to the online streaming issues at 5:48 p.m. and called the meeting back into session at 5:58 p.m.

The following community members requested to speak in Open Forum:

Alfredo Castillo – School Closures
Julie Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Benjamin Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Joshua Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Daniel Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Juliet Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Juliet Waters – 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Jill Hill – Facility Evaluation Recs
Nathaniel Ruby – Strategic Plan
Kaley Medina – 7.1.1 Strategy Plan
Evalyn Medina – 7.1.1 Strategy Plan
Leo Medina – 7.1.1 Strategy Plan
Heather Woodard – Strategic Plan
Mohammad Zahid – 7.1.1

Rhua Mohanlal - Shutting Down Schools
Annetta Gower - Facility Evaluation Recs
Court Newton - Budget & School Closings
Jenn Cao - 7.1.1 Strategic Plan
Mary Loh - Facility Evaluation Recs
Bobby Finken - School Closings
Philip Issa - Potential School Closings
Naveen Sanker S - Facility Evaluations
Shawn Hester - Strategic Plan Results
Sierra Ford - School Closure Evaluation
Kevin Chaka - 7.1.1
Nikhil Pandey - Potential Closures

WORK SESSION

The 7.1.1 Strategic Plan Implementation Team presented the Facilities Evaluation Tool results and options for consolidation consideration.

ADJOURNMENT

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 9:02 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
,
Jobby Mathew, Secretary