AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 5:30 P.M., June 26, 2019, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent:

Delma Abalos Dr. Steve Brown Carol Gregg Tammy Hawkins Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Mike Adkins, Jim Nelson, David Harwell, Todd Hiner, Dr. Stephanie

Howard, Dr. Lilia Náñez, Dr. Gregory Nelson

Others: Mike Atkins, Carla Byrne, Michael Hawley, Stacey Molyneaux, Julia

Willett-Weekly, Elaine Smith, Daryl Smith, Stacy Johnson, Andrea Martin, Dalia Benavides, Staci Ashley, Tony Parris, Mauricio Marquez, Amy Anderson, Joshua Moore, Charles T. Butz, Vasu Gupta, Nazareth Franco, Ruth Campbell, Elaine Sparks, Cynthia

McNabb, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Verification of Compliance with the Open Meetings Law – this is to certify that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with the public notice of this meeting: Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith certified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code had been met in connection with the public notice of this meeting.

No action required.

<u>Discussion of 2019-2020 Official Budget</u>: Chief Financial Officer David Harwell presented this item for discussion. Mr. Harwell briefly reviewed the high points of the budget. [5:31 – 5:38 p.m.] Other: 7 minutes

No action required.

(Delma Abalos arrived at 5:38 and was present for the remainder of the meeting.)

Public Hearing for Adoption of 2019-2020 Official Budget: Opened at 5:38 p.m. There was no public comment. [5:38 – 5:38 p.m.] Other: 1 minute

No action required.

Action Items

<u>Budget</u>: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Woodall to approve Adoption of 2019-2020 Official Budget as presented. (The District has utilized the budget planning calendar, worked with the Board of Trustees on the proposed budget, and has built a budget based on the tenets of House Bill 3 as adopted by the State of Texas during the 86th Legislative Session, and the comprehensive needs of the District, including compensation increases for staff, and funding for major program initiatives. The proposed budget will run from July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020.) [5:38 – 5:39 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 1 minute

Motion unanimously approved.

Possible Request for Approval to Move to Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public employees of the District or hear a complaint or charge brought against an employee of the school district by another employee] (Discussion of Recommendation to Hire Campus Principal for Pease Elementary School):

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 5:40 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 5:47 p.m.

Request for Approval of Recommendation to Hire Campus Principal for Pease Elementary: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Woodall to approve Recommendation to hire Kamye Smith as Campus Principal for Pease Elementary School as presented. [5:47 – 5:49 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 2 minutes

Motion unanimously approved.

Recess – (Attorney's had not anticipated the hearing to begin before 6:00 p.m.) [5:49 – 6:08 p.m.] Other: 19 minutes

Request for Approval to Move to Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee of the District; or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee] (Board to Conduct Hearing on Proposed Non-Renewal of Term Contract of Joshua Moore.):

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 6:08 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna C. Smith reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 8:51 p.m.

Take Action on Proposed Non-Renewal of Term Contract of Joshua Moore: Moved by Brown, seconded by Minyard to support the Administration's recommendation to non-renew the term contract of Joshua Moore. [8:51 – 8:51 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 1 minute

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Dr. Donna C. Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:51 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Dr. Donna C. Smith

Tammy Hawkins

LSG Time Use Tracker Totals (0 minutes) = 0% Structure – Voting: 4 minutes Other – 27 minutes