NEW FAIRFIELD BOARD OF EDUCATION NEW FAIRFIELD, CT

The New Fairfield Board of Education held a special meeting on Wednesday, November 29, 2017, at 7:00 p.m. in the in the New Fairfield Community Room, 33 Route 37, New Fairfield, CT.

MINUTES – November 29, 2017

PRESENT: Dominic Cipollone, Douglas DeRito, Greg Flanagan, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Ed Sbordone

ABSENT: None

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Alicia Roy, Chief Academic Officer Dr. Jason McKinnon, Middle School Principal Christine Baldelli, First Selectman Pat Del Monaco, Board of Finance Chairman Wes Marsh, Board of Finance member Erin Badillo

I. CALL TO ORDER: Dominic Cipollone called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. ELECTION OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN - The Board elected a temporary chairman to fill the position until the next regular meeting of the BOE on December 7th.

Samantha Mannion nominated Ed Sbordone to serve as Temporary Chairman. Greg Flanagan nominated Dominic Cipollone to serve as Temporary Chairman.

IN FAVOR OF ED SBORDONE: Peggy Katkocin, Samantha Mannion and Ed Sbordone.

IN FAVOR OF DOMINIC CIPOLLONE: Dominic Cipollone, Douglas DeRito, Greg Flanagan and Kimberly LaTourette.

Dominic Cipollone was elected Temporary Chairman.

IV. ELECTION OF NEW BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBER

The purpose of this meeting was to fill a vacancy on the Board of Education due to the resignation of Steve Burfeind. The position was advertised and the following three candidates applied: Kathy Baker, Patrick Bower and Rick Regan. Each candidate gave a brief description of his or her qualifications and reasons for applying for this position. The Board was given the opportunity to ask questions of each candidate.

V. EXECUTIVE SESSION FOR THE PUROPOSE OF ELECTING A NEW BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBER

MOTION: Peggy Katkocin made a motion to go into Executive Session at 7:32 p.m. for the purpose of discussing the potential BOE members. Douglas DeRito seconded the motion. **IN FAVOR:** Dominic Cipollone, Douglas DeRito, Greg Flanagan, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Ed Sbordone

The Board came back from Executive Session at 7:50 p.m.

A paper ballot was given and Rick Regan was unanimously appointed to the Board of Education. **IN FAVOR OF RICK REGAN:** Dominic Cipollone, Douglas DeRito, Greg Flanagan, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Ed Sbordone

Mr. Regan thanked the Board for this opportunity.

VI. ADJOURNMENT - Douglas DeRito made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:54 p.m. Peggy Katkocin seconded the motion. **IN FAVOR:** Dominic Cipollone, Douglas DeRito, Greg Flanagan, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Ed Sbordone

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne Kloos