The Board of Trustees of Denton Independent School District, State of Texas, met in a regular meeting at the Denton ISD Central Services building, 1307 N. Locust St., Denton, Texas, on Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 6:00 PM. The meeting was called to order by president Jim Alexander who announced that a quorum was present.

**Board Members** 

Alexander, Harris, Price, Ramsey, Rodriguez, Smith, and Stafford

Present:

**Board Members** 

Absent:

Arrived Late:

Left Early:

School Personnel Braswell, Rutherford, Wilson, Mattingly, Stripling, Monschke,

Present: Stephens, Cox and Stevenson.

Brittany Tabor, Denton Record Chronicle; DEA; Randy Stout, Others:

Attorney; citizens, staff, and students.

Pledges: The pledges to the flags were led by Lee Elementary School students.

Presentations/ Recognitions

Three seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists. Denton High seniors Katherine Dubberly and Robert Ponder and Ryan High's Kayla Cunningham made the prestigious list.

Denton ISD also had 13 seniors recognized as commended scholars by the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program. Nine of these scholars attend Guyer High including: Kyler Cook, Nicholas Eason, Soohyun Kim, Corey Marple, Allison Parker, Mindy Pile, Zachary Washam, Rachel Wetherington and Patrick Yoo.

Denton High commended scholars are: Francesca Farris, Parker Lawson, and Kayla Tunnell. Ryan High School commended scholar:

Annika Nelson.

The National Achievement Scholarship program recognized four students. Kristopher Carmona and Raven Vincent from Denton High, Taylor Ellis from Guyer High and Kayla Cunningham from Ryan High.

Students and staff from the Denton ISD's LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex recently broke the National Electric Dragster Association's world record for their electric junior dragsters, the third record broken by the ATC group.

1<sup>st</sup> Open Forum

Tammy Brooks represented parents of Hodge students living in the Lakeview area and wanted their children to remain in their current attendance zone. The majority of the students being re-zoned would attend Calhoun then Denton High where as their students would go to Calhoun then Ryan High.

Templeton
Growth Report

Templeton presented the Board with general DFW housing market information, economic indicators and Denton I.S.D. residential activity for the 3rd Quarter 2010. He also provided information on trends in residential home sales and growth in student population, demographic analysis tracking student migration patterns and district "Build-Out" analysis to determine what the district can expect as vacant land continues to develop.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

Proposed Middle School Attendance Rezoning for 2011-2012 Deputy Superintendent Jamie Wilson and Transportation Director Gene Holloway presented the proposed boundary changes for the 2011-12 school year that affect Navo, Calhoun and McMath Middle schools. The proposed re-zoning plans will help reduce and adjust student overcrowding at Navo Middle School.

The main proposal affects students who live west of Lake Lewisville and are currently attending Navo Middle – which includes 325 students.

- In Option A, there would be 325 students who would be assigned to Calhoun Middle. There would be 35 students currently attending Calhoun Middle who will be assigned to McMath
- In Option B, the proposed zones that would place the students, who attend Hodge, into the Strickland Middle School zone. This would place 116 students to Strickland and 209 to Calhoun. It still places 35 students from Calhoun to McMath.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

The Board recessed at 8:11 and reconvened at 8:15 pm

Update on Library Services

Donna Kearley, library and media services coordinator, outlined ways district librarians and aides are helping reach children through literacy. She pointed out how Denton ISD has increased its ability to reach students and currently ranks third in the nation in keeping internet searches safe for children, according to netTrekker.com.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

Audit Report as of Year End June 30, 2010 Carl Deaton of Hankins, Eastup, Deaton, Tonn & Seay, presented

DISD's Audit report for the year ending June 30, 2010.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

2<sup>nd</sup> Open Forum

No one wished to speak

Consent Agenda

Motion by Charles Stafford and seconded by Curtis Ramsey

To approve (the minutes of the October 26, 2010 board meeting; personnel matters and personnel leaves and absences; Budget Amendments as of October 31, 2010; TASB Update 88 Local policies: CQ (Local), DH (Local), EIE (Local) and DISD Local policies EIC (Local) and DIA (Local) on second reading; approval of 2010 Certified Tax Roll; approval of Property/Casualty Insurance renewal from TASB Risk Fund for the following coverages: \$862,275,654 Blanket Replacement Cost Limit - \$50,000 Deductible and \$250,000 Deductible for Wind, Hurricane and Hail, Equipment Breakdown, Miscellaneous Property, Liability, Vehicle and Crime; approval of Out-of-State Travel for Advanced Technology Complex Cosmetology Students for travel to the Midwest Beauty Show in Chicago, Illinois, March 11-14, 2011; and approval of Out-of-State Travel for Denton High School AFJROTC to visit Altus Air Force Base OK, and Sheppard Air Force Base TX).

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

Consider Approval of Audit as of Year End June 30, 2010

Motion by Rudy Rodriguez and seconded by Glenna Harris

To approve the Audit Report as of Year End June 20, 2010.

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

Consider Approval of 2011-2012 School Calendar Motion by Mia Price and seconded by Jeanetta Smith

To approve the 2011-2012 school calendar as presented.

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

3<sup>rd</sup> Open Forum

Willie Hudspeth addressed the Board regarding the middle school rezoning.

Closed Meeting	The Board convened into Closed Session at 9:44 pm.
Open Meeting	The Board reconvened into Open Session at 10:50 pm.
Adjournment:	The meeting adjourned at 11:00 pm.
	President
	Secretary