# Catalina Foothills School District Tucson, Arizona

December 7, 2011

TO: CFSD Governing Board

FROM: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

RE: Outstanding Achievements

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD students' and staff achievements.

## **National Board Certified Teacher**

Esperero Canyon teacher Jason Grobe received National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certification in Early Adolescence/Social Studies-History. The NBPTS' mission is to establish high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do and to operate a national voluntary system to assess and certify teachers who meet these standards.

## Catalina Foothills High School

# • College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

The following CFHS seniors have been named by the College Board as National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars: Maya Aldaghi, Samantha Feldman, Miguel Otarola, and James Wolf.

### • Solar Car Project Grant Recipients

CFHS teachers Michael Winters and Bryan Sobehrad, with the assistance of CFHS curriculum technology integrator Mark Rubin-Toles, are the recipients of an Arizona Technology in Education Association (AZTEA) grant for \$6,000. Only eleven grants were awarded statewide. The funds will be used for a solar car project. Students working in teams will have the challenge of using physics in a real world experience by designing solar cars for an inter-class competition among all of the physics classes.

## • "Celebration of Service" Honoree

CFHS senior Kate Morgan was named as Volunteer Southern Arizona Youth Volunteer in Education Honoree for her 200 hours of volunteer service to Orange Grove Middle School.

## • Speech and Debate

The CFHS Speech & Debate team took first place at the 2011 4A Winter Trophy Tournament on December 2-3 in Glendale, AZ. In addition to being the top-ranked school at the tournament, several students won first place in individual events. Austin Gilliland & Jessica Schulte took first in Public Forum Debate; Shaheen Ghori took first in Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Elana Quint took first in Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Lauren Evans took first in Humorous Interpretation; Brian Erickson took first in Expository Speaking; and Austin Gilliland took first in Impromptu Speaking. The CFHS team is coached by CFHS teacher Chris Lambert.

#### Band

The Foothills Falcon Marching Band recently completed their competitive marching season with a Superior With Distinction rating at the University of Arizona Band Day. They received the highest possible ratings from all judges and were awarded the prestigious Milton B. Nunamaker award for the outstanding performance of the day. Through out the entire season, the band never received less than a superior rating.

### **Community Schools**

## • Robotics

CFSD students were well represented at the recent 2011 Southern Arizona FIRST Lego League Robotics Tournament. Of the six teams selected to move on to the state tournament, three were the CFSD middle school teams. The various CFSD robotic teams and their awards were as follows:

- BumbleBroz Advance to the state tournament team members: Jeffrey Bonito, Noah Dettman, Jared Friedman, Michael Inouye, Sean McGroarty, Devin Panikkar, and Athan Walker (all members from OGMS)
- Operation M.O.O. Champion's Award 1<sup>st</sup> Place Overall team members: Claire Bergan (ECMS), Deven Carmichael (OGMS), Sophie Martens (OGMS), Justin Ni (ECMS), Brooke Palmer (OGMS), Dain Smith (ECMS), Vincent Bai (ECMS), Chloe Wicklund (OGMS), and Liam Donovan (ECMS)
- Wicked Weeds Strategy and Innovation Award team members: Grayson Barnes (not CFSD student), Victoria Carotenuto (OGMS), Evan Cohen (ECMS), John Franklin (OGMS), Ashtyn Gee (OGMS), Max Luria (OGMS), Rose Schoenfeld (OGMS), and Scott Wisnom (OGMS)
- Mission Mango 3<sup>rd</sup> Place Robot Performance team members: Tommy Belk-Arenas (SDS), Mason Bhola (SDS), Nikolas Gruber (SDS), Harris Holland (SDS), Ege Kacira (SDS), Joshua Kauffman (not a CFSD student), and Krishna Prabaharan (SDS)
- Robo Roosters Tied for 4<sup>th</sup> Place in Robot Performance team members: Rhys Davis (MZS), Brian Evans (SDS), Dennis Kim (SDS), Dimitri Kolipoulos (SDS), Andew Liaupsin (CVS), David Oh (SDS), Ryan Walk (not a CFSD student), and Franklin Wu (not a CFSD student)
- Banana Splitz Tied for 4<sup>th</sup> Place in Robot Performance team members: Eddie Bardach (MZS), Chris Brinkley (MZS), Diego Castro (MZS), Sidney Franklin (MZS), Rudy McCormick (MZS), Ben Pitot (MZS), Michael Simon (MZS), Alex Zhou (MZS)
- Tater Bots Research Award team members: Nicole Benita (MZS), Richard Cox (MZS), Fredik Dufwenberg (VVS), Dino Goodson (MZS), Daniel Lee (MZS), Submedh Prasad (MZS), Noah Rojas (SDS), and Jacob Waitt (MZS)

Outstanding Achievements December 7, 2011 Page 3

> BPA Busters – team members include Kevin Bai (VVS), Sean Bergan (VVS), NJ King (VVS), Carlton Loui, (VVS), Sage Pezzulo (VVS), Christian Vanasco (VVS), Vishakk Rajendran (CVS), and Jeremy Wang (CVS)

Teachers who coached these students were Charlotte Ackerman (SDS), Amie Bergerson (SDS), Krystyna Cymbaluik (VVS), Donna Fisher (MZS) and Lisa Weyand (ECMS). High School volunteers who mentored the teams were Ian Buterbaugh, Kali Cornn, Derek Jobst, and Parker Nisbet.

# **Esperero Canyon Middle School**

• Youth Fund Raising Award

Esperero eighth grader Gabe Lehrer, accepted on behalf of the Noah Cohen Memorial Youth Philanthropy Fund the Southern Arizona Chapter of the Association of Fund Raising Professionals' 2011 Outstanding Youth Philanthropists Award. The Noah Cohen Memorial Youth Philanthropy Fund was established in 2005 with the goal of reinforcing the Jewish value of righteous giving and engaging students as future philanthropists. To date, this organization raised and distributed more than \$47,500 to 19 local non-profit agencies.