Sunray Independent School District

BOARD RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the current Texas Commissioner of Education, Michael Williams, has recently resigned his position effective January 1, 2016;

WHEREAS, Texas Governor Greg Abbott has yet to name a successor to Commissioner Williams;

WHEREAS, the Commissioner of Education and the Texas Education Agency, which the Commissioner oversees, regularly make decisions, rulings and policies that directly and in-directly affect the 4.3 million school children of Texas, as well as over 1,200 Texas school districts, 8,300 + campuses, and 324,000 public school teachers throughout the Great State of Texas;

WHEREAS, the needs of Texas' schools and its children are of paramount concern to both the people of Texas and the long-term economic and cultural aspects of both the future of our State and our Nation;

WHEREAS, the People of the United States of America have proven their exceptionalism time and time again to the world and the People of Texas have continually proven their exceptionalism both to the world and to all of the other States in the Union who continue to look to Texas for bravery, integrity and leadership;

WHEREAS, the Great State of Texas will only continue to maintain its greatness, exceptionalism, cultural uniqueness, and economic edge with a high quality workforce and educated citizenry through a continued statewide commitment to quality public education for all;

WHEREAS, the new Commissioner of Education will be asked to lead in that endeavor, as well as address a wide array of other challenging educational and societal issues affecting our schools;

WHEREAS, a Texas professional educator with a life-long devotion to putting children first and being a successful proven educational leader, who also has a proven record of: high expectations for all students; commitment to local school control; a first-hand knowledge of effective Texas school practices, laws, policies and procedures; and a record of "doing the right thing" by students, parents, teachers, and schools is what is needed in the skill set ("tool bag") of an effective new commissioner; WHEREAS, local government is more efficient, effective, and responsive to its citizens than government or regulators from Austin or Washington, yet Austin and Washington governmental authorities continue to erode the traditional local control of Texas public school districts to the determent of Texas students, teachers, administrators, parents, taxpayers, board members and local school districts statewide;

WHEREAS, "unfunded mandates", excessive paperwork, and regulations from Austin and Washington are costing Texas public school districts millions of dollars annually, which results in higher taxes at the local level;

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of the Sunray Independent School District respectfully asks, and recommends, that Texas Governor Greg Abbott appoint as the next Texas Commissioner of Education an individual who meets the following criteria:

- The new Commissioner must be a current or former educator with a track record of putting the needs of students first;
- The next Commissioner must be a Texan who understands how Texas schools operate and has successful experience utilizing best educational practices at both the campus and district-levels;
- The new Commissioner must understand the exceptionalism of our state and our Texas schools, as well as have a detailed understanding of the varying backgrounds, diversity, challenges, uniqueness, and needs of Texas students;
- The new Commissioner must be highly committed to restoring "Local Control" to our schools, administrators and school boards;
- The new Commissioner must be committed to eliminating unfunded mandates, excessive paperwork & regulations from Texas school districts.

Approved unanimously by the Board of Trustees of the Sunray Independent School District on Thursday, November 12, 2015.

Brian Lee	<i>Shelby Taylor</i>	Merrill Harp	<i>Scott Peeples</i>
Board President	Board Vice-President	Board Secretary	Board Member
<i>Stacy Nelson</i>	<i>Richard Crowley</i>	<i>Jennifer Goolsby</i>	Brian Thompson
Board Member	Board Member	Board Member	Superintendent