## **Minutes of Regular Meeting**

## The Board of Trustees Brownwood Independent School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Brownwood Independent School District was held Monday, September 14, 2020 beginning at 6:30 PM at the Central Support Center located at 2707 Southside Drive. The meeting was called to order by Board President, Michael Cloy. BISD Trustee, Tim Jacobs, gave the invocation and Board President, Michael Cloy, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

PRESENT: Mr. Michael Cloy, President Mr. Eric Evans, Member Mr. Tim Jacobs, Member Mrs. Diane Thompson, Member OTHERS PRESENT: Dr. Joe Young, Superintendent Mr. Mitch Moore, Assistant Superintendent Mr. Charles Musgrove, Comm. Relations Coordinator Mrs. Karen Dempsey, Exec. Asst. to the Superintendent

## ABSENT:

Mr. Roderick Jones, Sr., Vice President Dr. Lisa Fowler, Secretary Mr. Codie Smith, Member

## Others Present:

Vick Orlando, Allison Northcutt, Lindsay Smith, Helen Lacy, and Shauntel McGlothin, and numerous members of the community.

Brownwood ISD Superintendent, Dr. Joe Young, gave the instructional focus report and noted that face-to-face and remote numbers were holding steady at 82% and 18% respectively. Remote teachers are beginning to work with parents who have plans for their kids to return to face-to-face learning. Dr. Young reported that parent liasons are splitting time between the elementary and middle school campuses to assist with any attendance issues. Instructional coaches have been added this year and are working to assist remote teachers with Google Classroom, grade level meetings, and provide additional instructional support. Beginning of the year testing and assessments have been administered and district interventionists are processing the data to find any possible gaps that were created due to the unforeseen COVID-19 circumstances this past spring.

BISD recognized the following individuals and presented them with certificates highlighting their achievements:

• **The Brownwood ISD Spotlight** recognizes members of the BISD faculty and staff that go the extra mile to ensure excellence in education for all our students. Spotlight recipients are chosen from peer nominations. September 2020 honorees were Northwest Elementary Pre-K Teacher, Shauntel McGlothin, and BISD Director of Nursing, Helen Lacy.

Dr. Young provided an update on the district's COVID-19 response plan, noting that Nurse Helen Lacy continues to do a great job working with the health department on contact tracing and identifying any possible close contacts. Data from each case is being collected and analyzed to help the district make the best decisions regarding how close contacts are determined and how to safely narrow down who is sent home when a positive case is confirmed.

The following Departmental Report & Action Item was presented:

**Enrollment/Transfer Report:** Dr. Young reported that enrollment numbers are down, primarily at the pre-k, kindergarten, and elementary levels. Enrollment in grades 7-12 is up from 2019. Though some drop in enrollment was expected due to COVID-19, Dr. Young cautioned that it does affect the amount of money the district has to work with. Transfers in from other districts are up. Dr. Young noted that our expanding programs, certification options, and the various choices that we offer at the secondary level are likely contributing to those additions.

Items on the Consent Agenda were approved unanimously as presented, with a motion by Trustee Eric Evans and a second by Trustee Tim Jacobs.

The items on the agenda included the following:

- Authorization for Superintendent to submit Asynchronous Plan to TEA
- Fundraisers
- Examinations for Credit Dates
- Adoption of TASB-initiated Policy Update 115
- Brown County Extension Agents as Adjunct Faculty
- Minutes from previous meetings:
  - August 10, 2020 Board Meeting Minutes Budget Workshop
  - August 10, 2020 Board Meeting Minutes Regular Meeting
  - August 27, 2020 Board Meeting Minutes Special Meeting

No Executive Session was held.

The meeting adjourned at 6:46 p.m.

Michael Cloy President Dr. Lisa Fowler Secretary