REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The Celina independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 17, 2014 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado, Celina, TX 75009 in Room 4 and the Board Room.

At 6:15 PM, Choc Christopher called the Dinner/Discussion session to order in Room 4 of the Administration Office. Members present included Choc Christopher, Pam Peters, Kelly Juergens, Todd Snyder, Chuck Hansen, and Jeff Gravley. Staff members present included Donny O'Dell, Rick DeMasters, Bill Hemby, John Mathews, Cindy Ewing, Marilyn Chamberlin, and Lana Brooks.

BOARD DINNER/DISCUSSION:

Agenda Items
Discuss Meeting with City of Celina and Drees Builders at Model Home on February 20, 2014

At 6:59 PM President Choc Christopher closed the dinner session.

At 7:00 PM Board President Choc Christopher called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Chuck Hansen led the pledge and Pam Peters gave the invocation.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Choc Christopher, Jeff Gravley, Chuck Hansen, Kelly Juergens, Pam Peters, and Todd Snyder.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tim Looper

SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT: Donny O'Dell, Rick DeMasters, Bill Hemby, John Mathews, Cindy Ewing, Marilyn Chamberlin, and Lana Brooks.

OPEN FORUM: Kelly Perez gave the board an update on girls soccer and how well it is going.

Stephanie Fay wants the school calendar to reflect that not only do we observe Martin Luther King Day as a student holiday but also that President's Day and Veterans Day be observed as a student holiday. She would also like to see the Pre-K program opened to include paying students.

CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS.

Jeff Gravley moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the January 20, 2014 Regular Board meeting and the Monthly Cash Distributions/Cash Balance/Investment Report and Budget Amendments. Motion Carried 6-0.

INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

Mr. O'Dell recognized Celina High School Teacher, Cindy Ewing, for receiving the Teacher Tribute Initiative Award from Stanford University. Ms. Ewing was nominated for the award by a former student.

ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:

Pam Peters moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the 2014-2015 school calendar as presented. Motion Carried 6-0.

Kelly Juergens moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the contracts with Collin County Elections and Denton County Elections for the May 10, 2014 school board elections. Motion Carried 6-0.

Pam Peters moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the sale of the wrecked 2013 Suburban. Motion Carried 6-0.

Kelly Juergens moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the purchase of a new 2014 suburban through the Buy Board. Motion Carried 6-0.

After some discussion Kelly Juergens moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the facilities arrangement for the 2014-2015 school year. Motion Carried 6-0.

Todd Snyder moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the Celina ISD Foundation High School Program effective with the 2014-2015 Freshman class. Motion Carried 6-0.

At 8:42 PM Choc Christopher recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Personnel

- 1. Administrator Contracts
 - a. Rick DeMasters, Starlynn Wells, Bill Elliott, Marilyn Chamberlin, Jill Roza, Starla Martin, Lew Kennedy, Stacy Ceci, John Mathews, Lori Gibbs, Misti Warrick, Bill Hemby, Karen Walker, and David Wilson.

At 9:18 PM Choc Christopher recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION: Kelly Juergens moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to the approve the following Administrator Contracts:

Rick DeMasters, Starlynn Wells, Bill Elliott, Marilyn Chamberlin, Jill Roza, Starla Martin, Lew Kennedy, Stacy Ceci, John Mathews, Lori Gibbs, Misti Warrick, Bill Hemby, Karen Walker, and David Wilson.

Motion Carried 6-0.

ADJOURNMENT:

Chuck Hansen moved and Kelly Juergens seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:44 PM.

Choc Christopher, President

Kelly Juergens, Secretary