Regular Meeting February 14, 2017

The meeting was called to order by President Jason Bonner at 6:01 pm.

Members present were Jason Bonner, Dr. Kent Thigpen, J.P. Abernathy, Bobby Langbartels and Leah Cooper. Ned Fratangelo and Milton Holland were absent.

District personnel present were Mike Wood, Clint Coyne, Dr. Lynn Fratangelo, Kimberly McDonald, Reba Ball, Terry Johnson, Jennifer Peeler, and Terry Alexander. Others present were several student representatives from the Junior High Choir.

Mr. Langbartels gave the invocation.

The choir, led by Ms. Peeler, sang "God Bless America". The Choir led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag. The choir then sang another song called "The Climb".

There was no one present for Public Comment.

Campus and Administrative reports were given at this time. Mr. Barnwell indicated there were campus reports available for each board member related to updates and upcoming events throughout the district. Mr. Johnson introduced employee candidate Laura Moss. Mr. Barnwell introduced new employee, Reba Ball.

Mr. Abernathy made a motion to approve the Consent agenda (previous minutes, budget amendments) contingent upon information that indicates a reasonable warranty will be provided for the jumping pits related to the track equipment budget amendment. Motion was duly seconded by Mr. Langbartels. Motion carried, 5-0.

A motion was made by Ms. Cooper, which was duly seconded by Dr. Thigpen, to approve the District of Innovation Plan, as presented. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Ms. Cooper, duly seconded by Mr. Abernathy, to approve the 2017-18 school calendar (version B) that was recommended by the Site Based Decision Making Committee. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Dr. Thigpen, seconded by Mr. Langbartels, which called for a board election to take place on May 6, 2017, for the purpose of electing two (2) school trustees for full three-year terms associated with places 4 and 5. The motion also included the allowance for early voting to take place (8:00 am-4:00 pm each weekday) beginning April 24, 2017 through May 2, 2017, at the Jefferson ISD Administration Building, 1600 MLK Drive, Jefferson, Texas. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Mr. Langbartels, duly seconded by Mr. Abernathy, to approve the textbook adoption committees for the subjects of Spanish and Anatomy & Physiology for the 2017-18 school year, as presented. Motion carried, 5-0.

The Board convened into executive session at 6:39 pm to discuss personnel, the possible purchase of real property, and the subject of security/safety of the district. The Board reconvened into open session at 8:09 pm.

Mr. Barnwell asked that the minutes reflect the previous acceptance of resignations from Ms. Wesley Lawless and Ms. Dora Whatley.

Mr. Barnwell recommended the Board approve the employment of Ms. Laura Moss through the offer of a probationary contract with the approval of a local teaching permit (to finish out this school year through June 30, 2017) beginning February 13, 2017. Motion by Mr. Abernathy to approve. Motion was seconded by Dr. Thigpen. Motion carried, 5-0.

Motion by Mr. Abernathy, duly seconded by Mr. Langbartels, to extend the 3-year contract of the superintendent (Mr. Barnwell) through June 30, 2020. Motion carried, 5-0.

Due to no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:11 pm.

_		
		
President's Signature	Secretary' Signature	