AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., August 9, 2007, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Renda Berryhill

Ray Beaty, DC Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Randy Rives Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Irene Granado, Alma Guerrero, Wendy Hines, Margaret Lehr, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Fay Batch, Feliz Abalos, Enrique Romero, Gene Collins, Christine Salazar, Skip Batch, Nancy Blaylock, Wanda Suttle, Angela Olsen, Chuck Isner, Martha Hulsey, Richard Abalos, Debra Neitzel, Averi Garcia, Laura Jimenez, Gerardo Arzate, Marty Hinson, Floy Hinson, Steve Jenkins, Maria Guzman, Santiago Salazar, Mylo Spencer, Anabel Spencer, Mike Schlueter, Juanita Silva, George Olson, Marcia Cleaver, Elaine Marsilio, Glenn DeMoss, Sandra DeMoss, Mary Lou Morga, Monica Sarabia, Jan Brown, Pete Frankson, Mariann Bagley, Michael Adkins, Nelda Loya
- **<u>19906</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Special Board Meeting to order.
- **19907** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- 19908Interview Candidates for Appointment of Board of Trustees Position 2
Vacancy: The following candidates were interviewed:

Fay Batch 1074 N. Navajo Ave.

Feliz Abalos 2349 W. Berry

Enrique Romero 2112 W. 7th St. The following citizens requested to address the Board of Trustees:

Christine Salazar, Director of LULAC District 6 6323 Alderfer

Marcia Cleaver, President of CRUCIAL 417 Washington Ln.

Gene Collins, NAACP-CRUCIAL-Tri-Ethnic Committee 717 Oxford

19909 Closed Session – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Deliberate the Appointment of Replacement for Board of Trustees – Position 2 and Recommendation to Hire Bonham Junior High School Principal and Cameron Elementary School Principal) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Carol Gregg, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:30 PM.

Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 6:52 PM.

19910Approval to Appointment Replacement for Position 2 of Board of
Trustees: Board of Trustees voted by ballot as follows:

Ray Beaty, DC voted for Enrique Romero Butch Foreman voted for Feliz Abalos Carol Gregg voted for Feliz Abalos Randy Rives voted for Enrique Romero Dr. Donna C. Smith voted for Fay Batch Doyle Woodall voted for Enrique Romero

None of the candidates received a total of four votes therefore the Board of Trustees will call for an election.

19911 Approval of Election Oder and Notice for November 6, 2007 Board of <u>Trustees Position 2 Election</u>: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Foreman to approve the Election Order and Notice for a November 6, 2007 Board of Trustees Position 2 Election.

Motion unanimously approved.

19912 Approval of Recommendation to Hire Bonham Junior High School <u>Principal</u>: Moved by Foreman, seconded by Smith to approve the recommendation to hire James Ramage as Bonham Junior High School Principal.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **19913** Approval of Recommendation to Hire Cameron Elementary School **Principal:** No motion was necessary for Monica Sarabia's assignment as Cameron Elementary School Principal.
- **<u>19914</u>** <u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Special Board Meeting at 6:57 PM.

Board President Carol Gregg Board Secretary Ray Beaty, DC