SOUTHWEST METRO INTERMEDIATE DISTRICT 288

GOVERNING BOARD MEETING MINUTES

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 15, 2020

SouthWest Metro Intermediate District 288 **District Office** 792 Canterbury Road S. Shakopee, MN

The meeting was called to order by Deb Pauly at 5:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Rachel Myers - District 110 Richard Schug - District 108 Dennis Havlicek - District 721 Tracy O'Brien - District 716 Deb Pauly - District 717 Lisa Anderson – District 112 Paul Christiansen - District 720 Erika Schulz - District 111 Dale Buss – District 2904 Dave Wilson - District 877

Members Absent:

Melissa Enger - District 719

Others in Attendance: Darren Kermes - Superintendent

Joyce Eissinger – Executive Director of Teaching & Learning

Melanie Kray - Executive Director of Special Education

Mike Redmond-Superintendent, District 720 Betsy Rahe – Administrative Assistant

Brian Fell - Executive Director of Business Services

Cindy Walters – Executive Director of Career and Alternative Education

Jennifer Bock – Director of Communications

Elizabeth Harner- Director of Adult Learning & Professional Development

Matt Helgerson - SiteLogig Kelly Smith - Baker Tilly

Jill Engeswic – Beyond New Beginnings Project Russel St John - Beyond New Beginnings Project

CONSIDERATION OF AGENDA:

Motion: Lisa Anderson moved for approval of the Agenda.

Dave Wilson seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

CONSENSUS ITEMS

MOTION: Dennis Havlicek moved to approve **Consensus Items 3.1. through 3.3.** – Regular Meeting Minutes of 8/18/2020, Monthly Expenditures/Wire Transfers, the following Regular Personnel Items:

4.2. Regular Personnel Items

Administration recommends approval of the following personnel items:

New Hire(s)

Janikula, Jennifer Teacher – effective August 24, 2020 - \$31.70 Schmidt, Jeffrey Custodian – effective September 21, 2020 - \$18.05

Position Change(s)

Gallardo, Kimberly Office/Receptionist – effective August 31, 2020

Resignation(s)

Schmitt, Bryce Paraprofessional – effective August 31,2020
Malone, Mary Paraprofessional – effective August 31,2020
Minalovsky, Mariya Paraprofessional – effective September 4,2020

Richard Schug seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

What's Cool In Our Schools

PACE Program – Liz Harner, Director of Adult Learning & Professional Development
New Beginnings Housing Project: Beyond New Beginnings – Jill Engeswic and Russel St John

DISCUSSION ITEMS:

- 5.1. Opening of School Year
 - 5.2.1. Alternative Education Cindy Walters
 - 5.2.2. Adult Basic Education Joyce Eissinger
 - 5.2.3. Care and Treatment Melanie Krav
 - 5.2.4. Career and Technical Education Cindy Walters
 - 5.2.5. Special Education Melanie Kray
- 5.2. St. Michael-Albertville Associate Membership Request
- 5.3 Dean Lakes
 - 5.3.1. Building Inspection Report Matt Helgerson, Site Logiq
 - 5.3.2. Financing of Dean Lakes Purchase Kelly Smith, Baker Tilly

ACTION ITEMS:

6.1. Approval and Second Ready of Policy 522 Title IX Sex Nondiscrimination Policy, Grievance Procedure and Process

Administration recommends approval of Policy 522 Title IX Sex Nondiscrimination Policy, Grievance Procedure and Process.

MOTION: Paul Christiansen moved to authorize the approval of Policy 522 Title IX Sex Nondiscrimination Policy, Grievance Procedure and Process.

Erika Schulz, seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

6.2. Approve FY21 Teacher Seniority List

Administration recommends approval FY21 Teacher Seniority List.

MOTION: Tracy O'Brien moved to approve FY21 Teacher Seniority List.

Dennis Havlicek seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

6.3. Approve FY21 MSEA Seniority List

Administration recommends approval FY21 MSEA Seniority List.

MOTION: Tracy O'Brien moved to approve FY21 MSEA Seniority List.

Dennis Havlicek seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

6.4. Resolution to Purchase Dean Lakes and Joint Powers Agreement

Administration recommends approval of the resolution to purchase Dean Lakes and by extension approving the Joint Powers Agreement.

MOTION: Dennis Havlicek moved to approve the resolution to purchase Dean Lakes and by extension approving the Joint Powers Agreement.

Paul Christiansen seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss. Paul Christiansen. Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

6.5. Approve Purchase Agreement Dean Lakes

Administration recommends contingent approval of the Purchase Agreement of Dean Lakes

MOTION: Paul Christiansen moved to approve the Purchase Agreement of Dean Lakes.

Lisa Anderson, seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss. Paul Christiansen. Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

ADJOURN

MOTION to Adjourn: Dale Buss, moved to adjourn the meeting.

Tracy O'Brien seconded the motion.

The Following voted in favor of:

Dennis Havlicek, Erika Schulz, Tracy O'Brien, Deb Pauly, Richard Schug, Lisa Anderson, Rachel Myers, Dale Buss, Paul Christiansen, Dave Wilson

Upon the vote, the motion carried.

Time of adjournment 7:40 p.m.

COMMUNICATIONS/INFORMATION/WORK SESSION 8.1. Member District Updates

Respectfully submitted,	
Dennis Havlicek, Clerk	