



SOCIAL STUDIES CURRICULUM REVIEW AND ADOPTION PROJECT TEAM MEMBERSHIP

POLICY ISSUE/SITUATION:

The Beaverton School District reviews and updates its curriculum, instructional practices and classroom materials in the various subject areas according to Board policy and Oregon State Statute and Administrative Regulations. The school board directed the Superintendent to form a Social Studies Project Team for the 2020-2021 Social Studies curriculum review at the August 31, 2020 meeting.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In October of 2020, following the guidelines established in II/IIA-AR, a Social Studies Project Team was formed consisting of teachers, administrators, students, community members, and parents.

RECOMMENDATION:

It is recommended that the Board review and affirm the attached list of members of the Social Studies Project Team.

District Goal: WE empower all students to achieve post-high school success.

Social Studies Project Team Members 2020-2021

School Administrators

Cherie Reese - Elementary David Nieslanik – High School Brian Curl - Elementary Mariah McCarty – Middle School

Teachers

Amber Burnett - Elementary Michael Viera - Elementary Marcela Ullibarry Cabrera - Elementary Susan Acosta - Elementary Gillian Sullivan Bing – Middle School Liv Cruse – Middle School Anil Naik – High School Kristine Hurtley – High School Isaac Kindblade - Options

Specialists

Carolia Cavedon – ESL Kacy Smith Paterson – Secondary English Language Arts Danica Jensen Weiner – AVID / Culturally Responsive Teaching Jessica Linderman – Special Education / Mentors Katie Swartwood – Elementary English Language Arts Brandon Culbertson - American Indian/ Alaska Native Program

Parents

District

Jacob Evers Jennifer Hoyt	Brian Sica – Administrator for Secondary Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment (Non-Voting)
Sara Chivers China Brotherson	Kayla Bell – Administrator for Elementary Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment (Non-Voting) Brad Parker – Social Studies Curriculum Specialist Matt Hiefield – Social Studies Curriculum Specialist Patrick McCreery – Administrator for Equity and Inclusion (Non-Voting) Susan Greenberg – School Board Member (Non-Voting)
Community Members Evelyn Campos Zelada Nora Mahmoud Stephanie Somanchi	

Susan Ouellette – Support

Students (High School)

Natalie Ebanks Scott Sloop Apoorva Rao Sara Koppy