MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

March 22, 2012

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session March 22, 2012 in the Blue Bonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the February 16, 2012 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Hector Gonzales, Joe Barker, Dr. Blaine Bennett, Anne Tarski, Oscar Garcia, Willie Edwards, Wade Carpenter, Connie Buchanan, Dr. Mark Underwood, Romelia Aranda, Reagan King, Barbara Blair, Xaviera Haynes, Jesus Martinez, Luis Fernandez, Gilbert Bermea, Amanda Hadley, Vanessa Verjan, Dick Whipple, Johnny Guzman, Terri Tucker, and Rachel Hinman. Also present was Sonia Ramon, Luis Venegas, and Polly Lopez.

Audience to Patrons - none

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to approve the financial statement as of February 29, 2012 as presented by Anne Tarski, Controller. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the amended Order and Notice of Election of College Trustees for May 2012 election. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Certification of unopposed candidates for the SWTJC Board of Trustees Election scheduled for May 12, 2012. A copy of the Certification of Unopposed Candidates is attached.

the Southwest Texas Junior College Trustee election and declare Victor Lopez - Place 1, Maria Elena Lara - Place 2, and Anita Shackelford - Place 3 as elected. Motion carried unanimously. A copy of the Order of Cancellation is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to nominate Tony T. Moreno to confer degrees at the college commencement Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. All board members will alternate handing out degrees. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to table the item on change to College Policy DC (Regulation). Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to designate Oscar S. Garcia as the Title IX and ADA/SEC 504 Coordinator. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

SACS Fifth-Year Interim Report - given by Dr. Mark Underwood. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 8:05 p.m. to consider:

- A. Appointing a President Elect for SWTJC.
- B. Employment of Associate Deans, Division Chairs, Directors, and Professional Personnel.
- C. Employment of Teaching and Non-Teaching Faculty.

Upon returning to open session at 10:10 p.m., a motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to appoint Dr. Hector Gonzales, Dean of Instructional Services and CFO as President Elect. Motion passed 4 - 3, Victor Lopez, Rodolfo R. Flores, Dr. Harry O. Watkins, and Anita Shackelford for and Tony T. Moreno, Maria Elena Lara, and Dr. Antonio H. Rivera against.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to re-employ Associate Deans, Division Chairs and Directors and Professional Personnel as recommended. Motion carried unanimously. Copies of the recommendations are attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to reemploy the teaching and non-teaching faculty as recommended. Motion carried unanimously. Copies of the recommendations are attached.

292

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 10:13 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	•
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board	
	Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness