School Board Meeting/Workshop:

Subject:

Presenter:

November 27, 2023

Annual Resolution Establishing Combined Polling Places for Multiple Precincts for Elections Not Held on the Day of a Statewide Election

Anita Underberg, Admin Asst to the Superintendent and BOE

SUGGESTED SCHOOL BOARD ACTION:

Recommend approval

DESCRIPTION:

RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING COMBINED POLLING PLACES FOR MULTIPLE PRECINCTS FOR ELECTIONS NOT HELD ON THE DAY OF A STATEWIDE ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 877, State of Minnesota, as follows:

1. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 205A.11, the precincts and polling places for school district elections are those precincts or parts of precincts located within the boundaries of the school district which have been established by the cities or towns located in whole or in part within the school district. The board hereby confirms those precincts and polling places so established by those municipalities.

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 205A.11, the board may establish a combined polling place for several precincts for school district elections not held on the day of a statewide election. Each combined polling place must be a polling place that has been designated by a county or municipality. The following combined polling places are established to serve the precincts specified for all school district special and general elections not held on the same day as a statewide election:

Combined Polling Place: <u>Buffalo High School – Precinct 1</u>

This combined polling place serves all territory in Independent School District No. 877, located in the City of Buffalo, Precincts 1, 2 and 3 and the Townships of Buffalo, Chatham, Maple Lake, Monticello and Rockford in Wright County, Minnesota.

Combined Polling Place: <u>Montrose Community Center – Precinct 2</u>

This combined polling place serves all territory in Independent School District No. 877, located in the City of Montrose and the Townships of Franklin, Marysville and Woodland, in Wright County, Minnesota.

Combined Polling Place: <u>Hanover City Hall – Precinct 3</u>

This combined polling place serves all territory in Independent School District No. 877, located in the cities of Corcoran, Hanover, Greenfield, Rogers and St. Michael in Wright and Hennepin Counties, Minnesota.

3. The clerk is directed to file a certified copy of this resolution with the county auditors of each of the counties in which the school district is located, in whole or in part, within thirty (30) days after its adoption.

4. As required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 204B.16, Subdivision 1a, the clerk is hereby authorized and directed to give written notice of new polling place locations to each affected household with at least one registered voter in the school district whose school district polling place location has been changed. The notice must be a nonforwardable notice mailed at least twenty-five (25) days before the date of the first election to which it will apply. A notice that is returned as undeliverable must be forwarded immediately to the appropriate county auditor, who shall change the registrant's status to "challenged" in the statewide registration system.