## **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the August 20, 2007 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on August 20, 2007 at 6:45 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice-President; Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; David Apple and Anthony Hill. A quorum was present.

Members absent: Cindy Warner, Secretary

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Kelly Penny; Sid Grant; Sherrye Dotson; Judy Denman; Mechelle Bryson; Jean Boyd; Brad Hunt; Tracey Wallace; Chad Branum; Debra Hart; Todd Kettler; Michelle King and Linda Cook

Notice of this meeting was posted on August 16, 2007 at 5:20 p.m.

At 6:45 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

At 7:32 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Bennett Ratliff.

#### **OPEN FORUM**

The following individuals addressed the Board during Open Forum:

Stephen Smith – Redistricting Andrea Hulcy – Redistricting and the Academy High School

#### **REPORT ITEMS**

#### SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Bill Montana and Mike Yakubovsky gave a presentation on the Suborbital Aeroscience Studies class.

Cathy Douglas reported on the E.X.I.T.E. Summer Engineering Program that was held in July and sponsored by IBM.

A report on Highly Qualified Teachers was given by Tracey Wallace.

#### **CONSENT**

Scott Orr made a motion to approve all consent agenda items as follows:

- 1. Approve Budget Amendments for 2006-2007
- 2. Approve Financial Report for July 2007
- 3. Approve the Minutes of the July 23, 2007; July 31, 2007; August 6, 2007; and August 13, 2007 meetings
- 4. Approve Renewal of Membership in Special Education Retainer Program with Walsh, Anderson, Brown, Schulze & Aldridge, P.C.
- 5. Approve 2007-2008 Appraisal Calendar

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

### **ACTION**

After reviewing the bids, Bennett Ratliff made a motion to pass an order authorizing the sale of school building bonds, Series 2007, to Prager, Sealy & Co., LLC, and take all necessary action. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item G)

Susie Kemp made a motion to adopt the policy on Student Expression required by House Bill 2678 as presented by staff. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item I)

David Apple made a motion to move forward with the plan for redistricting for the 2008-2009 school year based on the timeline presented and taking into consideration remarks made by Trustees during discussion. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item H)

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve a Resolution approving and adopting the budget for 2007-2008 fiscal year: (General, Child Nutrition, and Debt Service Funds) appropriating funds for each department, project, and account; and authorizing other matters related to the subject. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item B)

Bennett Ratliff nominated Cindy Warner to serve as primary delegate to the State Convention/Delegate Assembly. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item C)

Scott Orr nominated David Apple to serve as alternate delegate to the State Convention/Delegate Assembly. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item C)

Susie Kemp made a motion to adopt the update to EHBB (LOCAL) – Special Program: Gifted and Talented Students, and approve the Policies and Procedures for Screening and Assessment as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item D)

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt the TASB Policy Update 80, affecting (LOCAL) policies and including additional changes as recommended by staff to EIF (LOCAL) and EEJB (LOCAL). David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item E)

Scott Orr made a motion to approve the 2007 Certified Tax Roll (as required by the Texas Property Tax Code, Section 26.01) and any amendments that come throughout the year. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Item F)

Scott Orr made a motion to accept resignations as per list presented. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to employ professional personnel as per attached list, subject to assignment, as recommended by administration. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:42 p.m.	
	Kathie Gautille, Board President
	Cindy Warner, Secretary