

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: October 5, 2021

TITLE: Recognition of National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and

Semifinalists

BACKGROUND:

We are proud to recognize the following students for being National Merit Scholarship Commended Students and Semifinalists:

National Merit Scholarship Commended Students:

Nikolas P Stuetze, Amphitheater High School

Colin R. Brown, Canyon del Oro High School
Harrison C. Byrnes, Canyon del Oro High School
Luke O. Ferre, Canyon del Oro High School
Alexander Imrich, Canyon del Oro High School
Alex Z. Liang, Canyon del Oro High School
Tiffany N. Luu, Canyon del Oro High School
Josephine A. Neumann, Canyon del Oro High School

Samuel Y. Bai, Ironwood Ridge High School

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Skylar G. Korn, Ironwood Ridge High School Olivia J. Spencer, Ironwood Ridge High School

Students qualify to become semifinalists based on their scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (<u>PSAT/NMSQT®</u>). Nationwide, this group of approximately 16,000 semifinalists represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. These very bright and talented young students have a chance to compete for nearly \$31 million in scholarship money for college.

To become a finalist, the students and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application providing information about their academic achievements, community projects, leadership experience, employment, and honors they have received.

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is presented for the Governing Board's recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Matt P. Munger

Associate Superintendent for Secondary Education

Date: September 29, 2021

Fodd A. Jaeger, J.D./Superintendent