Ector County Independent School District Odessa, Texas Memorandum

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Jim Nelson, Interim Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT/REAPPONTMENT OF SCHOOL HEALTH ADVISORY COUNCIL (SHAC) MEMBERS

DATE: September 18, 2018

A Board shall establish a local School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) to assist a District in ensuring that local community values are reflected in the District's health education instruction. A majority of the Council must be parents of students enrolled in the District and who are not employed by the District. The Board may also appoint one (1) or more school teachers, public school administrators, district students, healthcare professionals, members of the business community, law enforcement representatives, senior citizens, clergy, representatives of non-profit health organizations, or representatives from other groups.

There are currently three (3) vacant SHAC Parent Member positions, and one (1) vacant SHAC Community Member position. The District has received three (3) Parent applications and three (3) Community applications to fill the 2018-19 SHAC Membership vacancies. The District has received an adequate number of applications to fill the 2018-19 SHAC Members are encouraged to submit individuals for appointment consideration.

The Board of Trustees shall consider, but is not limited to, written applications that are submitted by any eligible person desiring to serve on the Council.

It is recommended that the Board of Trustees take action and appoint/reappoint applicants to serve as a School Health Advisory Council Member for a two (2) year term.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Nelson Interim Superintendent of Schools **Bruce McCrary** Executive Director of Athletics

Updated: 9-7-18

2018-19 Appointment / Reappointment School Health Advisory Council Members

(Total Parent and Community Membership Capacity: 14)

The following members' terms ended August 2018 and submit their names for reappointment:

Parent Members	Community Members
Amanda Varela – Owner/Office Manager	Renee Morris – Executive Director
Dawn Weaks – Paster	Larissa Guevara – RN MCH
Sarah Keitges (vacant – not returning)	Diana Edmiston (vacant – not returning)

The following members' terms end August 2019:

Parent Members	Community Members
Gracie Flores – Family Nurse Practitioner	Lisa Cline - UTPB
Erin Gwilliam - Homemaker	Suzanne Rathbun – UTPB Counseling
Bianca Carpenter – Certified Prevention Specialist	Mellessa Brenem - PBRCADA
Holly Moore (vacant – not returning)	
Christin Timmons (vacant – not returning)	

The following Applicants have submitted their names for consideration for the vacancies listed. These terms will end August 2019:

Parent Members (three vacancies)	Community Members (one vacancy)
Michelle Smith – PBRCADA	Amrinder Singh Chahal – Epidemiologist
Steven Ortiz – Athletic Trainer	Aaron Thomas – Community Service Manager
Joshua Alaniz – PermiaCare Director	Kelly Dirden – Program Director WTFB