# TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES 12 NOON MEETING MINUTES September 25, 2007

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, September 25, 2007, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Board President Shawn Brevard.

### II. ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present: Ms. Shawn Brevard

Mr. Mike Clayborne Mr. Steve Ludt Mr. John Nail Mr. Lee Tucker

Staff Present: Dr. Randy McCoy

Mr. David Meadows
Dr. George Noflin, Jr.
Mrs. Diana Ezell
Mr. Jim Turner
Mrs. Linda Pannell
Mrs. Kay Bishop
Mr. Bob Monroe
Ms. Patrice Tate
Dr. Derwood Tutor

Mrs. Brevard announced a quorum and stated that the meeting was lawfully in session. Members of the press were also present.

#### III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the September 25, 2007, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

### Notification of Action of the Commission on School Accreditation

Superintendent Randy McCoy reported that the district received a letter from the Mississippi Department of Education dated September 14, 2007, stating that on September 6, 2007, the Commission on School Accreditation assigned the Tupelo Public School District an Accredited status for school year 2006-2007 and also assigned school performance classifications to each school in our district for school year 2006-2007.

#### Workers' Compensation Insurance Proposal

Mr. Paul Mize of Ross and Yerger Insurance, Inc. presented information regarding the district's workers' compensation insurance. The renewal date for the current insurance premium is October 1. Mr. Mize reported that after searching the market for competitive premiums the lowest quote is from Municipal Fund which insures 85% of the municipalities in Mississippi and 20 school districts including Jackson Public, Gulfport, Moss Point, Long Beach, Hattiesburg, and Vicksburg. Alcorn and Booneville have changed to Municipal Fund this year and the City of Tupelo is insured for their workers' compensation with Municipal Fund.

Dr. McCoy recommended that the district purchase workers' compensation coverage with Municipal Fund effective October 1 through September 30, 2008.

## Designation of Technology Staff Members Delena Masley and T. J. Higgins as E-Rate Purchasing Agents

Superintendent Randy McCoy and Deputy Superintendent David Meadows recommended that the Board consider designating TPSD Technology Staff Members Delena Masley and T. J. Higgins as E-Rate purchasing agents with specific approval to accept quotes received by the named individuals in 2005-2006 (E-Rate Year 8). Mr. Meadows explained that this action will allow the TPSD to move forward on purchasing wireless network equipment recently approved by E-Rate from 2005-2006 Year 8.

#### The following agenda items were also reviewed:

- Consent Agenda
- Student Transfers
- Personnel Changes
- Docket of Claims
- Financial Statements for Month-Ending August 31, 2007
- Advertised Bid #BD552 Bus Cameras with Recording Systems
- Purchase of Six New School Buses for 2007-2008 School Year
- Establishment of Value of "Old" Golden Wave Bus
- MSBA Fall Leadership Conference November 12-13, 2007

#### IV. EXECUTIVE SESSION - PERSONNEL MATTERS

President Shawn Brevard suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

On a motion by Mr. Clayborne, seconded by Mr. Nail, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

September 25, 2007 Page 2

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Shawn Brevard with the following people present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard, Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mr. Steve Ludt, Mr. John Nail, and Mr. Lee Tucker.

The Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Clayborne with a second by Mr. Nail, the Board voted unanimously to remain in executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mrs. Brevard reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into executive session was to discuss personnel matters.

Upon a motion by Mr. Clayborne with a second by Mr. Nail, the Board voted unanimously to come out of executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

## VII. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Ludt and duly seconded by Mr. Nail that the Board adjourn. Mrs. Brevard declared the meeting in adjournment at 3:20 pm.

APPROVED:	ATTEST:
TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES	
Shawn Brevard, President	Michael K. Clayborne, Secretary

September 25, 2007 Page 3