Minutes State Board Meeting September 8, 2022

Present: Ouida Newton, Chair, Dr. Sarah Moore, Vice-Chair; Adrienne Woods, Randy Henderson, Kathy McFetridge; Dr. Fitz Hill; Lisa Hunter; Jessica Saum, 2022 Arkansas Teacher of the Year, Johnny Key, ADE Secretary

Attended via ZOOM: Steve Sutton

Absent: Jeff Wood

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Thursday, September 8, 2022, at Rogers School District. Chair Ouida Newton, called the meeting to order at 1:04 PM and extended appreciation to Rogers School District and Dr. Jeff Perry, Superintendent for hosting the meeting of the State Board, followed by a moment of silence.

Recognition

Two new State Board members, Mr. Jeff Woods, Little Rock and Ms. Lisa Hunter, Whitehall were recognized as the new State Board Members.

Rogers School District, Benton County, being in her legislative district, Representative Delia Haak, District 91 was recognized, as well as, Representative Denise Garner, Washington County.

Milken Educator Award Winner

Presented by Ms. Karli Saracini, ADE Assistant Commissioner of Educator Effectiveness & Licensure, Ms. Kamisha Burlingame, Bentonville School District was recognized as one of two Milken Award winners, sponsored by the Milken Foundation.

Changes to the Agenda

None

Consent Agenda

Items included for consideration in the Consent Agenda were as follows:

- 1. Minutes 08-11-22
- 2. Newly Employed, Promotions and Separations
- 3. Consideration of Report on Waivers to School Districts for Teachers Teaching Out of Area for Longer than Thirty (30) Days, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-309
- 4. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 20-157 Gregory Briggs
- 5. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 22-116 Robert Ruppe
- 6. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 22-119 Kevan Moore
- 7. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 22-120 Shannon Prater
- 8. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 22-124 Carol Clark

Under Item 2, Newly Employed, Promotions and Separations, Ms. Ouida Newton expressed appreciation to Mr. Anthony Owen, former Director of Computer Science and STEM for the work he has done for the State Board and how far computer science has moved in Arkansas.

Pulled Item 6 from Consent Agenda and Added to October State Board Action Agenda: Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 22-119 Kevan Moore – To review due to current, inappropriately applied sanctions due to previous sanctions and history.

A motion was made to approve the Consent agenda with correction to Minutes of August 11, and without Item 6. The motion was made by Ms. Kathy McFetridge, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods. The motion unanimously passed.

Action Agenda

VI.1. Consideration of Act 1240 Digital Learning Waiver

Ms. Deborah Coffman, DESE Public School Program Advisor, Office of Public School Accountability presented Item VI.1. Mr. Ross White provided clarity and answered questions presented by the State Board.

Bay School District

Bay School District is requesting approval of their learning plan for grades 10-12. Bay School District (District) previously had a one-year plan approved for the 2021-2022 school year, in which the district is currently requesting to extend. The program will offer synchronous and asynchronous learning through a virtual approach using curriculum provided by Lincoln Learning. Teachers are Arkansas certified and provided by the content provider. The district is requesting to not use the class size and teacher load waivers as the district has a small number of students enrolled. The District is requesting the Act 1240 Digital Learning Waiver through the end of the 2024-2025 school year. The application has been reviewed by the DESE team.

A motion was made to approve the digital learning plan for two years for Bay School District. The motion was made by Mr. Steve Sutton, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

VI.2. For Final Approval: DESE Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass Index for Age Assessment Protocols in Arkansas Public Schools

Item VI.2. was presented via ZOOM by Ms. Cristy Park, DESE Attorney Specialist. Also present via ZOOM were Ms. Jerri Clark, DESE Director, School Health Services, and Shelia Chastain, DESE Associate Director of Child Nutrition Unit

DESE request final approval from SBE on DESE Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass Index for Age Assessment Protocols in Arkansas Public Schools.

A motion to approve the DESE Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass Index for Age Assessment Protocols in Arkansas Public Schools was made by Ms. Kathy McFetridge, seconded by Dr. Fitz Hill. The motion unanimously passed.

VI.3. Consideration of Request for Approval of Nominated Members for the Professional Licensure Standards Board to Replace Members Whose Terms are Vacant or Expiring June 30, 2024

Item VI.3. was presented by Ms. Karli Saracini, ADE Assistant Commissioner of Educator Effectiveness & Licensure.

Under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422 members of the PLSB serve rotating terms and are appointed by the State Board from nominations made by professional education associations. The Executive Board of the Arkansas Professors of Educational Leadership (ARPEL) has nominated Dr. Annette Hux, Interim Department Chair, Department of Educational Leadership at Arkansas State University to fill the position vacated by Dr. Nita Bohannon. The term of this member is to begin immediately upon appointment and end on June 30, 2024.

A motion was made to approve the nominated members for the was made by Ms. Adrienne Woods, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

VI.4. Consideration of Charter Authorizing Panel Decision - Omni Classical Prep. of Cabot Item VI.4. was presented by Ms. Dorie Summons, Director, DESE Public Charter School

Omni Classical Prep of Cabot submitted an application for an Open Enrollment Charter School. The Charter Authorizing Panel denied approval of the Open-Enrollment charter application based on the following: 1. The need for additional work on the application to provide a clear explanation of financial, administrative, and educational structure. 2. Lack of continuity in the required application components, including chain of command and segregation of duties.

3. The need for a more detailed plan to fully address all concerns of the panel. 4. Lack of clarity regarding administrative roles, fiscal guardrails, and special education student services. Four Charter Authorizing Panel members voted for a denial of the application and two members voted against the denial.

A motion was made to not review the Charter Authorizing Panel decision of denial of the Omni Classical Prep. of Cabot. The motion was made by Ms. Kathy McFetridge, seconded by Mr. Steve Sutton. The motion unanimously passed.

New Business

National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) Annual Conference is scheduled October 26-29, 2022; each board has one delegate. Dr. Sarah Moore is nominated as NASBE Chair-elect. Ms. Kathy McFetridge will attend the NASBE conference in October as delegate.

A motion was made to by Dr. Sarah Moore, second by Ms. Adrienne Woods.

Public Comments

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the State Board meeting was made by Mr. Steve Sutton, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed. Chair Ouida Newton adjourned the State Board meeting at 2:51 PM.

Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.

Johnny Key
Ouida Newton, Chair
ADE Secretary
State Board of Education