

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education

Allen Blackwell, Superintendent

Rose Bud School District

ablackwell@rbsd.k12.ar.us

Jacob Oliva Secretary

Stacy Smith
Deputy

Commissioner

State Board of Education

Dr. Sarah Moore
Stuttgart
Chair

Kathy Rollins
Springdale
Vice-Chair

Adrienne Woods
Rogers

Randy Henderson
Blytheville

Lisa Hunter
White Hall

Jeff Wood
Little Rock

Ken Bragg Sheridan

Leigh Keener

February 26, 2024

Amy Lowe mommyof4lkab@yahoo.com

Dennis Truxler, Superintendent Quitman School District truxlerd@quitman.k12.ar.us

Re: Appeal Under Arkansas Code § 6-18-316 –

Good afternoon:

This letter is to notify you that the Arkansas State Board of Education is scheduled to hear the above-referenced appeal(s) on <u>Thursday, March 14, 2024</u>. The action item is set for <u>9:00 a.m. in the Auditorium of the Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock, Arkansas <u>72201</u>. Any additional materials any party chooses to submit should be provided to my office <u>no later than 12:00 noon on Friday, March 1, 2024</u>.</u>

The Arkansas State Board of Education has requested the parent, the receiving district, and the resident district attend this meeting and be available for questions.

The above-referenced appeal(s) will be conducted pursuant to the legal authority and jurisdiction vested in the State Board by Arkansas Code § 6-18-316. Each party will be under oath and may take up to 20 minutes to present its case.

Thank you in advance for your cooperation in this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact me via email or by phone at (501) 682-4899 should you require additional information.

Sincerely,

/s/Stephen M. Reynolds

Stephen M. Reynolds Attorney Specialist

Arkansas Department of Education stephen.reynolds@ade.arkanasas.gov