Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Tuesday, July 19, 2011, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Rick Dunham – Vice-President, Gary Schniederjan – Secretary, Janet Banks – Board Member, Doug Claborn – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, David Steele – H S Principal, Karen Taft – Elem. Principal, Diane Cody – Dir. of Special Education, Carroline Methvin – Dir. of Curr./Inst., Scott Hand – Dir. of Technology, Sherri Garcia – Technology Dept., and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: Peter Baumert Visitors: Zelda Beth Lang – KXIT Radio, Sylvia Renick – Community Education Dir., Sherry Hanshew, Jim McDaniel

- 12325. Call to Order President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.
- 12326. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12327. Student/Teacher Presentations Scott Hand gave the board a brief training on the I-Pad's.

12328. Audience with:

Patrons – None

Students – None

Staff-None

- 12329. Update from Sylvia Renick on Community Education Program Mrs. Renick gave the board an annual update of the Community Education Program for the year and stated that the program had a great year. She thanked the board for their continued support for the program and that she is continually adding new classes each fall, spring and summer as the program continues to grow.
- 12330. Update on new construction with QSCB 2010 Mr. Foote gave a brief update on the QSCB 2010 and where we were at this time and the progress of the Athletic Complex.

- 12331. Update on Roof Removal and Replacement for DISD Mr. Foote stated everything was going very well and everything was looking good and that they were finished at Intermediate School, Allyn Finch Building, Elem. School, and working on Jr. High and finishing the Lego gym. Roofs will be finished before school starts.
- 12332. Consider and discuss possible fee increase for Drivers Education Course at Dalhart High School from \$125.00 to \$150.00 for the 2011 2012 school year It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve the increase in Drivers Education Fee for Drivers Education Course from \$125.00 to \$150.00 beginning with the 2011 2012 school year.
 Yeas: Banks, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12333. Consider amending the 2011 2012 DISD school calendar It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Gary Schniederjan to amend the 2011 2012 school calendar, doing away with the flex days and making them regular instructional days for all students, pending TEA approval.
 Yeas: Banks, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill

Nays: None

12334. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

Financial Reports

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Gary Schniederjan and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the consent agenda: minutes of regular meeting held on June 21, 2011, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for June 2011. Yeas: Banks, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating and Air bills

- 12335. President Lloyd announced that the Board of Trustees would adjourn into closed session in accordance with Texas Government Code Chapter 551 to discuss personnel issues at 8:43 p.m. The board reconvened in open session at 9:50 p.m.
- 12336. Consider and discuss amending the VEIP (Voluntary Exit Incentive Plan) It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Randy Sherrill to

approve the extension of the VEIP program thru August 31, 2011, with all the required qualifications staying the same. Yeas: Banks, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12337. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 10:03 p.m.