## ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING September 19, 2016

## **MINUTES**

## **BOARD MEETING**

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, September 19, 2016, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Bobby J Rigues, Jennifer Loftin, Forrest Collins, and Dr. David Tillman.

## **AGENDA**

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:10 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Ron Shelton, Principal of Stuard Elementary, and students led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

Ron Shelton then introduced several students who spoke about special programs at their school they enjoy. Videos were shown that the first grade and fourth grade classes had made.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, announced district events including the TASA/TASB convention, Future Ready Schools Consortium with Ian Jukes on September 27, October 4 Team of Eight Meeting, and the next regular school board meeting on October 17. Dr. Citty also gave an enrollment update and discussed functional capacity at campuses. Dr. Citty thanked the community and school district for the support shown to the Trenten Darton family.

Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Forrest Collins recognized two national merit semifinalist, Brain McGee and Kevin Robb. Steve Bond, Director of Transportation was congratulated on becoming a certified pupil transportation master official. Joey Qualls and Simon Bosch, Aledo Middle School band teachers, were recognized for being a national winner in the Mark of Excellence/National Wind Band Honors program.

Jay Stringer, President, reminded Trustees of the October 4 Team of Eight Training and the TASA/TASB Convention.

Shawn Callaway, Executive Director of the Education Foundation, reported the foundation has 11 new directors, will host Bearcat Alley on September 30, and their annual campaign is now underway. He also reported that the teacher grant applications are on-line this year.

Dr. David Tillman reported that Community Partners met on September 9 and the fall newsletter will go out in October.

Bobby J Rigues gave a legislative report and announced that the Senate Education Committee met on September 14 and heard testimony about the voucher program enacted in other states, on September 15 A.J. Crabill, Deputy Commissioner of Governance, presented his program to Trustees and calls it Lone Star Governance about board training concerning student data. Forrest Collins spoke about the North Texas Area Association of School Boards meeting he attended and about the voucher system and the need to educate the public about this system.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment and there were none.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Dr. David Tillman to approve the minutes from board meetings on August 4, 15, 23 and 29, 2016, the monthly financial report, the Education Foundation Memorandum of Understanding, the School Health Advisory Committee Members, and the 2016-2017 budget amendment as presented by administration.

Motion was:

- 6 FOR
- 0 AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced the Administrative Reports:

~ 2015-2016 Annual Summer School Report – Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development & Accountability, gave an overview of the summer school program that serves students in grades 5, 8 and 9-12.

- $\sim 2015$ -2016 Annual ESL Report Denise Dugger, Executive Director of Professional Development & Accountability, reported on this program for the 2015-2016 school year.
- ~ Bond Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, Ross Rivers, VLK Architects, and Mike Trammell, Buford Thompson, reported that the Coder project was 99% completed this month, the Technology upgrade is 95% complete, and also spoke about the progress of elementary #5.

President Jay Stringer introduced Action Items:

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Jennifer Loftin, to approve twenty three class size waivers for this year as presented by administration.

Motion was: 5 FOR

1 AGAINST (Bobby J Rigues)

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Forrest Collins, to approve Update 106 as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOI

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Bobby Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve FNF (LOCAL) – Student Rights and Responsibilities as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

6

0 AGAINST

At 8:45 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Section 551.072 (Real Property).

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer at 9:07 P.M. with no action taken.

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgments – Thank you to the teachers for a great job in STAAR scores and we appreciate the conversation with the principals.

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 9:09 P.M.

SECRETARY_		PRESIDENT	
	APPROVED	. 2016.	