AT A SPECIAL WORKSHOP MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., February 27, 2007, with the following members:

> Present: Ray Beaty DC Renda Berryhill Randy Rives Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

Absent:

Butch Foreman Carol Gregg

- School Officials: Wendell Sollis, David Finley, Dr. Joe Gallegos, Irene Granado, Alma Guerrero, Robert Hand, Wendy Hines, Margaret Lehr, Hector Mendez, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Donna Brasher, Evelyn Garcia, Maya Leena, Alicia Syverson, Marcos Lopez, Denise Shetter, Tommie Robinson, Lisa Wills, Ron Leach, Joe Waters, Danny Keener, Elaine Smith, Denise Rives, Lu Cleere, Kristina Wight, Mario Contreras, Lynn Whisenhunt, Amy Russell, Linda Voss, Jan Brown, Marsha Dry, Rose Valderaz, Tisa Hawkins, Pam Walker, Karla Wright, Al Harris, Dr. Karen Johnson, Nelda Guerra
- **<u>19705</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.
- **19706** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Randy Rives, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **19707** Request for Approval for Early Payment of Salaries and Determination that Such Payment Serves a Public Purpose and Will be Made to Insure that a Public Purpose Will be <u>Accomplished</u>: Moved by Rives, seconded by Smith, to approve that the payment of salaries to our employees on August 24, 2007 serves the public purpose of enabling our employees to receive their regular paycheck, thereby maintaining moral of our employees, and that such payments be made directly to each respective employee for that purpose.

Motion unanimously approved.

Special Board Meeting February 27, 2007

19708 Request for Approval of 2007-2008 District Instructional Calendar: Moved by Smith, seconded by Beaty, to approve the 2007-2008 District Instructional Calendar as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19709</u> <u>Area II Principals' Academic Presentation</u>: The following Area II Principals' Academic Presentations were made:

Joe Waters Denise Shetter Danny Keener Evelyn Garcia Donna Brasher Tisa Hawkins Pam Walker Alicia Syverson Marcos Lopez Karla Wright Tommie Robinson Ron Leach

Carver EEC Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary Blanton Elementary Dowling Elementary Goliad Elementary Hays Magnet Elementary Ireland Magnet Elementary Noel Magnet Elementary Sam Houston Elementary Bowie Junior High Hood Junior High Odessa High

<u>19710</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 8:35 p.m.

Board President Randy Rives Board Secretary Doyle Woodall