MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING

JUNE 10, 2013

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2013-14 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 10, 2013, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Stephen Lowry.

Board members present were: Terry Merck, Jeff Rogers, Mark McClellan, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, Darrell Moore and Alice Church.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Nadine Davis, Paul Jensen, Phil Boone, Debbie Lambert, Kim McMillan, Brad McVay, Mitch Davis, Tony Spradlin, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The Board recognized the DI Global teams. Steve Ellinger presented the dedication plaque for the new middle school.

RESIGNATION

Terry Merck submitted his resignation to the Board.

OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board members; Alice Church - Place 1 and Darrell Moore-Place 3.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Jeff Rogers nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Stephen Lowry made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Jeff Rogers nominated Darrell Moore as Vice President. Mark McClellan made a motion that nominations cease and Darrell

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 10, 2013 PAGE TWO

Moore be elected by acclamation. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Jeff Rogers nominated Stephen Lowry. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Darrell Moore be elected by acclamation. Alice Church seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

The minutes of the May 13, 2013 and May 16, 2013 meetings were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

By consensus of the board, Mark McClellan was selected as voting delegate and Alice Church will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2013.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF WAIVER REQUEST FOR ACCELERATED INSTRUCTION

Darrell Moore made a motion to approve the waiver request to adjust the timeline for providing accelerated instruction to students who fail the third administration. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL A motion was of intermediate quote from CAMPUS IMPROVEMENTS \$35,441.00

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers to approve the quote from Abilene Glass & Mirror in the amount \$35,441.00 for the Intermediate campus improvements. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: $\underline{5}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF JUNIOR HIGH TRACK RESURFACING

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve the bid from Vibra-Whirl Sports in the amount of \$71,585.00 to resurface the junior high track. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 10, 2013 PAGE 3

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction update, TASB Convention/Dallas, and STAAR/TAKS test results, and parent/staff surveys.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:20 P.M. to 9:13 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

PERSONNEL ITEMS

A motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Darrell Moore to employ Shealynn Abston on a one-year contract for $10\frac{1}{2}$ months for the 2013-14 school year; subject to assignment.

Employ Anjani Cole, Caroline Johnson, Johanna Morrow, Tony Elliott, & Jay Tindol on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2013-14 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Alice Church to adjourn. Official time was 9:15 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	